Book Review – Stolen: A Letter to My Captor

Author: Lucy Christopher
Series: None
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Thriller, Mystery, Drama
Release Date: 4th May 2009
Publishers: Chicken House Ltd
No. Pages: 301
Source: Myself
It happened like this. I was stolen from an airport. Taken from everything I knew, everything I was used to. Taken to sand and heat, dirt and danger. And he expected me to love him.This is my story.A letter from nowhere.Sixteen year old Gemma is kidnapped from Bangkok airport and taken to the Australian Outback. This wild and desolate landscape becomes almost a character in the book, so vividly is it described. Ty, her captor, is no stereotype. He is young, fit and completely gorgeous. This new life in the wilderness has been years in the planning. He loves only her, wants only her. Under the hot glare of the Australian sun, cut off from the world outside, can the force of his love make Gemma love him back?The story takes the form of a letter, written by Gemma to Ty, reflecting on those strange and disturbing months in the outback. Months when the lines between love and obsession, and love and dependency, blur until they don’t exist – almost

Stolen was an emotional rollercoaster to say the least. This was a book that I would have never read if it was not for the fact that I could not phantom how my friends could be sympathising with Ty. I picked this book up for the sole purpose of having valid points on why Ty was a character you just did not like, so I did not expect myself to love it as much as I did.

This book did not contain a complex plot, however, the simplicity along with the beautiful and real writing made for an enjoyable and easy read.

The story is narrated by Gemma, through a letter she writes to her kidnapper, Ty.  Although she appeared annoyingly weak at times, it only added to the realistic element this book has. Gemma is not a fierce and strong heroine that I was used to reading about, but she was a real sixteen year old who acted and responded how anyone in her situation would.

Ty was a character that I absolutely refused to like before I had even started the book. However, as the book progressed and we found more about his history I found my opinion slowly changing.  Another thing that makes Christopher’s writing brilliant is the fact that she forces the reader to feel how the narrator feels; as Gemma’s feelings towards Ty changed so did mine.  The Characters in stolen were both complex and diverse.

Although this book was not a fast-paced action-packed novel, the psychological trip you experience as you dive into the world of Stockholm syndrome was enough to keep me entertained.

Stolen blew me away. It was a book I was certain I was not going to like but I was pleasantly surprised. I highly recommend it to everyone.

5stars

4 thoughts on “Book Review – Stolen: A Letter to My Captor

Leave a Reply

