Movie Review: Mockingjay Part 1

I will admit before saying anything else that I was very sceptical about Mockingjay being split into two movies.

After watching Catching Fire and seeing how close the movie was to the book, I was crossing my fingers that Francis Lawrence would be rejoining the cast to shoot for Mockingjay. I was ecstatic when I realised he was and he did not disappoint. Mockingjay, in terms of a book adaptation, was good, no, it was great. The movie is pretty close to the book (note: I didn’t reread the book for the movie, this is based purely on what I can remember.).

The cast, both new and old, portrayed their characters very well.

Josh Hutcherson’s performance in this movie blew me away. Not only was his portrayal of hijacked Peeta haunting, but he conveyed the brutal treatment he was receiving at the hands of the Capitol and how his condition was slowly deteriorating in only a few short scenes. If you had any doubts on his ability to act, they will certainly be wiped away after this performance!

Jennifer Lawrence’s “The hanging tree” was beautiful; I had goosebumps.

My favourite scene from this movie was definitely the final scene in which Katniss sees hijacked Peeta after being attacked by him.

Although, I did enjoy this movie I still stick to my belief that Mockingjay did not need to be split into two movies. After seeing the movie it was clear there was not enough happening in the first half of the book to justify the split, which caused the movie to seem dull at times.

I’m definitely looking forward to part two though!

3stars

(This is actually a 3.5 rating)

Leave a Reply

