Book Review – The Iron Daughter

Author: Julie Kagawa
Series: The Iron Fey
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Release Date: 1st August 2010
Publishers: Harlequin Teen
No. Pages: 432
Source: A gift from a friend
Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron fey—ironbound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her.Worse, Meghan’s own fey powers have been cut off. She’s stuck in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can’t help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MILD SPOILERS FOR THE FIRST BOOK

I wasn’t blow away by this book, however, I did enjoy it more than the first one.

This book started off almost immediately from where the first book finished (you can also read about the time between the two books in a short story the author has published as an ebook), which helped me become engrossed into the world again from the first chapter.

Whilst I found it difficult to remain interested in the first book, there were only a handful of times within this book that made me want to put it down. Kagawa’s writing was once again descriptive and informative, allowing me to visualise both the icy surroundings of the unseelie court and the in between that was Lea’s domain. However, this book contained quite a few sloppy mistakes that an editor could have easily corrected. I’m not usually bothered by this but some of these were so glaringly obvious, it was hard not to notice.

Meghan Chase, the half-blood daughter of the erlking, is our main protagonist. Meghan went from a character I liked, in book one, to a character I found irritating and whiny, in book two. For half of the book her only focus was the fact that Ash, prince of the unseelie court, didn’t love her. It was infuriating. There is one thing that I cannot stand and that is a female character that cannot function without the attention of their love interest.

I feel as though all of my problems with this book leads back to the romance within it, although I didn’t hate the love triangle during the first book, my feelings definitely changed in the second book.. It’s actually laughable how predictable the love triangle within this book is, it is the cliché bad boy gets the girl and the friend, the person that would be good for the girl, doesn’t. In this book Puck expresses his feelings towards Meghan more often than the first, these scenes made me uncomfortable as it was so obvious he had been friend zoned. 

Prince Ash was one of my favourite characters during the first book, so I was pretty disappointed at the lack of him during the first half of the book. I will admit that Ash throwing everything he has ever known away for Meghan annoyed me. It was bad enough that Meghan was suffering from the instant love syndrome, now Ash was too. Apart from this, I did continue to enjoy his character.

There wasn’t enough Puck for my liking in the first book, so I was so glad when he returned. I enjoyed his humour, which made some of the more dull scenes in the book entertaining. Although, at times, his humour did seem juvenile. 

I did enjoy many of the minor characters in this book. Learning more about the winter court and the Ash’s brothers intrigued me, however, I still feel like we didn’t learn enough about Ash’s relationship with his family as he wasn’t present through many of these scences. Grimalkin was probably my favourite minor character, whenever a problem would arise it was clear it couldn’t have been solved as quickly without his help. I also loved characters such as ironhorse, lea and her streetrats.

Overall, this book had a much stronger plot and I found myself more engaged with the story than the first one. The only problem I had was, of course, the love triangle. After the ending of this book I know I’ll be picking up the third one very soon. 

4stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review – The Iron Daughter

  1. Leona says:

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book and some bad things, but it’s high in my TBR list. Sounds like a promising series. I think I will this after I read The Black Company, The Gentlemen Bastards, The Broken Empire series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

