Book Review – Blood of Olympus

Author: Rick Riordan
Series: Heroes of Olympus
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology
Release Date: 7th October 2014
Publishers: Disney-Hyperion
No. Pages: 516
Source: Myself
Buy at: BookDepository

Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them—and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake.The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it “might” be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea’s army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

I’m going to start this review by saying that I was indeed one of the many that were disappointed that Blood of Olympus did not contain a single chapter that was in Percy’s POV. Whilst this did dampen my mood when I first picked the book up, by the end of the book, regardless of the lack of Percy POV, I did enjoy it very much.

Rick Riordan is an amazing writer, I find it easy to be absorbed into the worlds he creates and to love the characters within his stories. His writing in Blood of Olympus was no exception, there wasn’t a single time where I became bored and wanted to put the book down.

I enjoyed reading about both the struggle to get the Athena Parthenos to camp halfblood and the final length of the journey for the Argo II’s crew. Both parts were equally entertaining and action packed.

I loved having Nico’s point of view in this book. He was one of my favourite characters during the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, although we didn’t see nearly enough of him, so this was a real treat for fans of Nico. I loved the fact that Nico finally admitted to Percy that he used to have a crush on him, and also that Nico opened up to Will and was finally able to accept that he deserved happiness and did not need to be alone.

Before picking up this book I did fear there would be a serious lack of Percy in this book, mainly because of the lack of his POV, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that there wasn’t. I still would have loved more Percy scenes because who doesn’t love Percy?

I didn’t like Reyna much before this book, which is mostly due to constantly being told negative things about her from Piper. However, after seeing her interact with Nico and learning more of her past I can honestly say I love how strong, independent and determined she is. She really grew on me in this book!

There was not nearly enough Percy sass and Leo humour in this book, however, the few moments we did receive were some of my favourites.

There was one thing that I was extremely disappointed about… The lack of Percy/Poseidon scenes. I love Poseidon’s character, even though he has only a handful of scenes in PJO series and next to none in the Heroes of Olympus series, so the lack of him was really sad for me.

I did love all of the action throughout the book (and trust me there was a lot!) but I did believe the final battle with the giants could have been longer and also there could have been a greater contribution from the Gods during the final confrontation with the earth mother.

The ending was sort of open in terms of Leo. I was so happy he found his way back to Calypso but was slightly disappointed that they did not immediately return to camp halfblood so that everyone else would know Leo was still alive. I really want to read about Leo’s reunion with the other crew members of the Argo II.

I really enjoyed the character development each and every one of the members of the Argo II’s crew experienced, not only during this book but throughout the series. I was so happy that they all got happy endings.

Although, I did expect more death and way more crying on my part, I did enjoy this book. I could say so much more about this book but I’m going to leave it at this before I really start rambling.

I still can’t believe this series is over!

5stars

5 thoughts on “Book Review – Blood of Olympus

  1. thefictionalreader says:

    I can’t believe it’s over either! I love this series so much, and I actually only thought about the lack of Poseidon when I read it here. You’re right! And I love Poseidon. I’m happy with how Nico developed and how the book ended for him, it was perfect!

    Great review! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

