Book Review – Captive

Author: A.J. Grainger
Series: None
Genres: Young Adult, Thriller, Contemporary
Release Date: 29th January 2015
Publishers: Simon & Schuster UK
No. Pages: 228
Source: Netgalley
Buy at: BookDepository

I open my eyes. The cell is flooded with sunlight; the window is a slice of pale blue. Dust particles dance in the sparkling light, pirouetting in a golden line from the window to the opposite wall of the cell, where they seem to converge into shapes. It is like looking into a kaleidoscope.Dad isn’t here. No one is, but me.
Robyn Knollys-Green is an A-list celebrity, famous for being the daughter of one of the world’s most powerful men. But not even the paparazzi can find her now.

Robyn begins to realise that she is trapped in a complicated web of global corruption and deceit – and that the strange, melancholy boy who has been tasked with guarding her might not be an enemy after all . . .

After reading the synopsis for Captive, I was instantly intrigued by the plot. Unfortunately, whilst I did like this story it wasn’t amazing.

This story follows Robyn Knollys-Green, the daughter of the British Prime Minister, as she is kidnapped by a group of animal rights activist. Robyn was an okay protagonist, I didn’t find her annoying but I didn’t love her either. I think my lack of connection to Robyn was probably the main reason I felt disconnected through a large portion of this book.

The male love interest, Falcon, was a more dynamic and complexed character than Robyn, and I did like him. I enjoyed discovering more about Falcon’s past and to realise he wasn’t a bad guy but someone forced to make bad choices by the tragic events that had happened in his past.

However, the romance within this book did little for me. It felt as though it just happened. Sure, Robyn and Falcon had some interesting conversations where you could see a possible friendship blooming, but none of these interactions felt like they could lead to a romance. I understand that Stockholm syndrome was supposed to play a factor in the romance, but I couldn’t help but root for Robyn and Falcon to remain as friends.

A.J. Grainger’s writing was descriptive and creative. However, there were times that Grainger would reuse the same ideas and this repetition soon became dull. For the most part this story flowed well and was easy to read.

The most enjoyable aspect of this book, for me, were the flashback scenes that added a unique twist to the story. These flashbacks enabled the reader to uncover information that Robyn was slowly remembering, this was a good approach to give readers the required information to understanding why Robyn was in her present situation, without feeling like the author was info dumping.

Unfortunately, a good portion of the plot of this story was predictable. To start with it felt like I was waiting for her to get kidnap so something interesting would happen, but once she had been kidnapped I found myself waiting for her to  be rescued. However, there were still a few surprising twists at the end which was definitely a pleasant surprise.

Overall, this book was good but it wasn’t amazing. It contained an interesting plot but the mediocre characters really let it down.

3stars

One thought on “Book Review – Captive

Leave a Reply

