Series Overview – Heroes of Olympus

Author: Rick Riordan
Series: Heroes of Olympus
Genres: Middle grade, fantasy
Release Date: 5th Feburary 2015
Publishers: Hyperion books
Source: Myself
Buy at: 
BookDepository

    

What I liked about this series:

  • Not only did some of the major characters (i.e. Leo) experience major character development so did some of the minor characters (i.e. Reyna). It was great.
  • It was interesting to see the Roman counterparts of the God’s we met in the Percy Jackson series.
  • More Percy Jackson – Who doesn’t love Percy?
  • Nico finally becoming comfortable and confident with himself.
  • The relationships within the book. Not only the romances but the friendships that developed.

What I disliked about this series:

Do I recommend it?

Yes, definitely! But you should read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series first.

One quote per book:

  • “You must forge your own path for it to mean anything.” – The Lost Hero.
  • “Annabeth’s face, her blond hair and gray eyes, the way she laughed, threw her arms around him, and gave him a kiss whenever he did something stupid.
    She must have kissed me a lot, Percy thought.” – The Son of Neptune.
  • “Being a hero doesn’t mean you’re invincible. It just means that you’re brave enough to stand up and do what’s needed.” – The Mark of Athena
  • “Death is sometimes kinder than Love.” – The House of Hades
  • “Hey, I’m a Poseidon kid,” he said. “I can’t drown. And neither can my pancakes.” – The Blood of Olympus

Favourite Cover:

I don’t like the UK editions of these books, which is why I’ve used the US covers above. From that edition I have to say that my favourite is the Blood of Olympus cover, but I also enjoy the Mark of Athena’s cover.

Favourite Book:

It’s hard to pick one but I’ll go with the Mark of Athena because this was the book that shocked me the most – THAT cliffhanger (If you’ve read this, you know what I’m talking about).

5stars

Leave a Reply

