Book Review – The Assassin’s Blade

Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Release Date: 13th March 2014
Publishers: Bloomsbury
No. Pages: 448
Source: Myself
Buy at: BookDepository

Celaena Sardothien owes her reputation to Arobynn Hamel. He gave her a home at the Assassins’ Guild and taught her the skills she needed to survive.

Arobynn’s enemies stretch far and wide – from Adarlan’s rooftops and its filthy dens, to remote islands and hostile deserts. Celaena is duty-bound to hunt them down. But behind her assignments lies a dark truth that will seal her fate – and cut her heart in two forever…

Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine and find out how the legend begins in the five page-turning prequel novellas to the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series.


 warning: this review may contain spoilers if you haven’t read throne of glass yet

I don’t usually review books immediately after finishing them but I need to write my feelings down because I have too many of them.

The Assassin’s Blade is a collection of five novellas, but whilst reading this you could never tell. This bind up tells us more about Celaena’s history prior to the first Throne of Glass book and how she ended up in Endovier.

I already loved Celaena’s character but after reading this book my love for her has grown. There’s so much depth to her, she’s not just a famous assassin who enjoys killing for sport. She’s a girl who’s had to endure some of the worst types of pain, but has always found a way to come back from it all.

Sam Cortland… All I have to do is ask why Sarah would create such a fantastic character only to kill him? Celaena has had various love interests in the first three throne of glass books but none of them will ever live up to the romance she had with Sam.

During the course of the novellas we get to see their relationship change from a rivalry, to a unsteady friendship and to finally an unwavering love for each other. It was beautiful and even though I knew how it would end, I couldn’t help but wish Sarah would just disregard what she’d written in the other books and keep Sam alive (I really wish she had).

I’ve wanted to meet Arobynn Hamel since I read the first book. I’d painted this image of him on how I expected him to look and behave, but he was not what I was expecting. I thought I was going to have a love-hate relationship with him, which I normally do with every villain but I just couldn’t bring myself to like him at all. Not after he repeatedly hurt Celaena for no other reason than because of his belief that she belonged to him. If Celaena decided to dispatch of him in the future books I won’t be complaining.

Then we got to meet all of these other amazing characters (Ansel, the mute master and Yrene) that I hope we get to see again in the future books, it would be a waste not to let them make another appearance. Whilst we’re on the subject of the mute master can we talk about how much better Celaena’s life would have been if he was the one who had trained her?

It’s really hard to pick a favourite novella but I think I’d either go with the third one or the fifth one.

If you’ve read Throne of Glass but have yet to pick this up, I suggest you rectify that mistake immediately.

5stars

9 thoughts on “Book Review – The Assassin’s Blade

  1. The30thnerd says:

    Totally agree.. These novellas give such depth to Celeana’s character… Yes Sam’s death was devastating… I think the most interesting story was when she went to train with the mute master… I hope to see Ansel in the future back.. It’ll be so fun!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

