Series overview – The Selection Trilogy

Author: Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection series
Genres: Young Adult,  Dystopia, Romance
Release Date(first book): 7th June 2012
Publishers: HarperCollins Children’s Books
Source: Myself
Buy at: 
BookDepository

13564634 16122212 20572939


Disclaimer: Whilst I know that Cass is publishing more books in the selection series this series overview is based on the ‘original’ trilogy only.

What I liked about this series:

  • It was a fast and easy read. (I read the first two in one sitting each and the second in two sittings)
  • Prince Maxon. He was so sweet and it was hard not to love him
  • The girls of the selection finally coming together and realizing their friendships with each other were just as important as their relationships with Maxon

What I disliked about this series:

  • American Singer could be very annoying and it’s hard to enjoy a story when the narrator is annoying.
  • The rebel attacks… They sometimes felt like they were only happening for the sake of something to be happening.

Do I recommend it?

If you’re looking for a light and easy read then you should definitely give this series a shot.

One quote per book:

  • “No, I’m not choosing him or you. I’m choosing me.” – The Selection
  • “It wasn’t like I made his world better. It was like I was his world. It wasn’t some explosion; it wasn’t fireworks. It was a fire, burning slowly from the inside out.” – The Elite
  • “You are not the world, but you are everything that makes the world good.” – The One

Favourite Cover:

I think this series is blessed with stunning covers and so it is hard to pick a favourite but the colour scheme for The One is my favourite.

Favourite Book:

The Selection.

4stars

4 thoughts on “Series overview – The Selection Trilogy

  1. Bookmark Chronicles says:

    I’ve been trying to decide if I want to read this and since you said its a light read I can definitely read it while school is in session. I’ve also been looking for more dystopian novels so thanks for the overview!

    Like

  2. Pingback: ohbookish

Leave a Reply

