Book Review – Fangirl

19174917Author: Rainbow Rowell
Series: None
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Release Date: 3oth January 2014
Publishers: Pan Macmillan
No. Pages: 461
Source: Purchased
Buy at: BookDepository

Cath and Wren are identical twins, and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they’re off to university and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be one half of a pair any more – she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She’s horribly shy and has always buried herself in the fan fiction she writes, where she always knows exactly what to say and can write a romance far more intense than anything she’s experienced in real life. 
Now Cath has to decide whether she’s ready to open her heart to new people and new experiences, and she’s realizing that there’s more to learn about love than she ever thought possible …
A tale of fanfiction, family, and first love


You know there are those books which you read at the perfect time in your life? Fangirl was that for me.

The story follows Cath, a huge Simon Snow fan who spends her free time writing fanfiction, as she moves away to college. Cath has an identical twin sister, Wren, who she’s always done everything with, but now Wren doesn’t want to room with her. Now Cath’s stuck with Reagen, her scary roommate, and the ever-present Levi.

I’ve mentioned it a few times on my blog but I’m currently in my first year of college/university, so I could really relate to Cath. She’s an awkward introvert who prefers being alone in her room, writing her fanfiction, rather than going out partying. The book focuses on her struggles to deal with college, and so many of the things she worries about I completely understood and related too.

In contrast, I didn’t like Wren. She’s focused on herself and experiencing college on her own that she doesn’t really give Cath the time of day. I understand she wanted to live her own life but there were some things that happened in this book which I thought would help bring the sisters together, but Wren remained aloof. She does develop near the end of the novel and whilst I think she’s an okay character, I can’t bring myself to love her.

Levi, Cath’s love interest, is an absolute sweetheart and I adored him. My favourite scenes were actually the ones where Cath was reading him her fanfictions. I also loved Cath’s roommate, Reagen. She’s blunt, to the point where it could be consider rude, and she’s not afraid to say it how it is. She doesn’t let Cath wallow in her self-pity, and she really helps Cath come out of her shell.

I flew through this book, mainly because of Rowell’s easy-to-read writing style, which I adore.

I’m not a huge contemporary fan, but I would definitely recommend you give this one a shot (even if the genre isn’t your favourite).

4stars

5 thoughts on “Book Review – Fangirl

  1. Emily Alfano says:

    I LOVED Levi as well (perfect book boyfriend for us book nerds obviously) and i said the same thing! i thought Wren was self centered and i didn’t much care for her! i will say though, i think it has to do with the whole twins thing and i think Rainbow did a great job of portraying just how much twins have to share everything (including their identity) their whole lives with someone else. i think she went crazy when she got to college simply because she was trying to find herself and break away from her identity with her sister that she had all her life.
    or maybe she truly is just self centered LOL. i guess i’ll never know!
    great review!
    Emily @ http://www.rabbitholereviews.com

    Like

  2. Kelly says:

    I haven’t read a lot of Rainbow Rowell books…I’ve read Eleanor & Park, and her short story in My True Love Gave to Me, but that’s it. I loved Eleanor & Park, but none of her other books seemed like must reads for me. I did buy the Kindle version of this when it was on sale a while ago, but I just keep forgetting about it. Your review kind of prompted me to go back and check it out, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

