Book Review – Carry On

post1123734628
Author: 
Rainbow Rowell
Series: None
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Release Date: 8th October 2015
Publishers: Macmillan Children’s Books
No. Pages: 522
Source: Purchased
Buy at: BookDepository

Simon Snow just wants to relax and savour his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he’ll be safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his room-mate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savour anything.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story – but far, far more monsters.


A lot of people are claiming this one as their new favourite Rowell book, and whilst I did really enjoy it I’m not sure if it’s my favourite of her work.

If you’ve read Fangirl you know the main character, Cath, writes Simon Snow fanfiction. Throughout Fangirl  we get snippets of Cath’s fanfiction, and those snippets are some of my favourite scenes in the book, so I was beyond excited to pick up Carry On. Now I assumed this book was supposed to be Cath’s fanfiction, but it’s actually Rowell’s take on Simon, Baz and their world (So if you haven’t read Fangirl you can still pick this one up without spoiling it for yourself).

This book starts off slow and the first part of the book is essentially a filler/a massive info dump. As Carry On is supposed to be the final book in the Simon Snow series, I can see why it was necessary and whilst the story did drag a little, I think Rowell did a good job with getting the reader up to speed.

The story really picks up (and becomes a lot more interesting) when we meet Baz. Because Simon is completely obsessed with Baz we learn a lot about him before we actually get to meet him, which meant that I already loved him before he’d even had his own chapter. Baz is hands down my favourite character within this book – he’s that typical evil sarcastic kid, who’s actually not so evil but still totally sarcastic. Also, his relationship with Simon is so cute and I couldn’t wait for them to get together.

I really liked Simon and Penny as well. I know a lot of people compare Penny to Hermione and yes they are really similar but she does have some differences to Hermione.

This book didn’t feel like I was reading a fantasy but rather a contemporary, which works really well with Rowell’s writing and her characters. Although the magic system was weird I did enjoy it and it does make sense when it’s explained.

My only complaint with this book is that although it ends nicely (everything’s wrapped up) I do feel like Rowell could have explored some things/characters more (e.g. I wanted to know more about the twists that are revealed at the end). I don’t know if she didn’t because she wanted to leave the story open for a possible sequel or not, but I’m actually hoping she does write at least one more book just to answer some of the questions I have.

4stars

I buddy read this book with Charley @ Bookin Nerd so if you’d like to read her review click here.

9 thoughts on “Book Review – Carry On

  1. MyBookJacket says:

    The cover has been tempting me for quite a while now but I’ve refrained, mainly because of the size of my TBR list. And I can’t tolerate a whole series right now. But four stars inspite of the negatives seem tempting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

