Monthly Wrap Up – February 2016

post13.png

February was a really busy month for me. I was drowning in assignments, which combined with the fact that February already has less days, meant I couldn’t read as much as I wanted, or hoped, to.

I read a grand total of three books last month, all of which I gave a 4 stars or higher rating to. Which means I had a good reading month in terms of quality, which is what really counts right?

1. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski – This was the first book I managed to finish this month and I absolutely loved it. I feel like within YA recently there’s been an influx of heroines with amazing physical skills, and I feel like that’s become the meaning of 12093541_1212016288816026_1608988072_n‘badass’. However, Kestrel proves you can be a badass and not be good at fighting. I loved Kestrel, I loved Arin, I loved the world, I loved the politics. I can’t wait to read book two. I’m also using this book as my February TBR Jar Challenge which was to read a book which was less than 500 pages, which this was.

2. Rebel of The Sands by Alwyn Hamilton – This was one of my most anticipated releases of 2016, and it did not disappoint. It’s a western with a middle eastern twist (although the Arabian side does take a major backseat). I really enjoyed both Amani’s and Jin’s characters and I can’t wait to see what book two brings. I’ve already posted a full review for this book, so if you want to you can read that here.

picture1.png3. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey – I don’t know what it was about this book but it took me almost a month to finish. I probably would’ve given it a 5/5 stars rating, if it hadn’t taken me so long. When imagining the world being overrun by aliens, I never pictured something so terrifying. Yancey’s take on this scenario has completely blown my mind. I also really liked all of the characters within this book and I loved getting the different POVs.

Those are all of the books I read in the month of February. How many books did you read last month? Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned above? What did you think of them? Tell me in the comments!

 

3 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up – February 2016

  1. Camryn says:

    I started The Winner’s Curse a while back but I couldn’t get into it. I think it was hyped too much and simply couldn’t live up to being as good as I was told it would be. But I do want to try it again soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

