Monthly Wrap Up – March 2016

post15.png

Okay, so maybe my TBR for March had been slightly over ambitious. This month I experienced a lot of ‘mini’ slumps and I also had more of a social life than normal. This month I read three books and one novella.

1. The Crown and The Arrow by Renee Ahdieh – This is a 9 page novella, which tells the scene of Khalid’s and Shazi’s wedding but from Khalid’s point of view. Whilst this doesn’t add anything extra to the story, it was nice to read something from Khalid’s perspective. It’s also renewed my excitement for The Rose and The Dagger.

2. I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson – This was my February buddy read book of the month, which I didn’t end up finishing in February. I’m not usually a huge contemporary fan but Charley @ bookinnerd picked this book for us to read, so I decided to give it a shot. I’d heard only great things about this book before picking it up, but I still wasn’t sure if it would be a book for me. But I ended up really enjoying it and the way the story was told. If you don’t know it’s told from two perspectives – Jude and Noah, who are twins. Jude’s point of view tells us the story two years after the incident happened and Noah’s is set before it has happened. The alternating point of views made the story have a bigger impact on me, because I knew how Noah and Jude were before the incident and so you, as a reader, feel awful to see how much they’ve drifted.

3. The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski – This is the second book in the Winner’s Trilogy. I really enjoyed the first book but this one was even better. I don’t want to say too much, because I feel like that will spoil the first book. But I really enjoyed how the politics play a large factor in this book and that we get to see more of the world. I will be posting a review for this book soon for a more in detail explanation on my thoughts.

4. The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski – As soon as I finished The Winner’s Crime I had to pick this up. This is a trilogy that gets better with each book, in my opinion. There’s a lot more action in this one than the others which I was really glad about. Again, I will be posting a review very soon which is why I’m being very brief.

Those are all the books I got to this month. What books did you read this month? Tell me in the comments!

signature

2 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up – March 2016

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    I’ve read both The Crown and the Arrow and I’ll Give You The Sun – liked both though gotta admit the latter let me down a bit given all its high praises. Really need to start getting into The Winner’s trilogy; that’s definitely high up my TBR!

    Here’s my wrap-up, if you’re interested. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

