Monthly To Be Read – April 2016

monthlytoberead

This month I’m not sure what I want to read especially since I’m not too sure if I’ll be at home the entire month or I’ll be back at uni for some of it. Because of that this TBR isn’t set in stone, and so you’ll probably see some different books in my wrap up post at the end of the month.

I’ve already read both Cress and Fairest which are books 3 and 3.5 in the lunar chronicles by Marissa Meyer. I’m saving my thoughts on both of these books for my wrap up post, but if you’re interested in picking either of these books up I would recommend you do so. Each book in the lunar chronicles is a retelling of a different fairy tale, but with a sci-fi twist. The books do all intertwine, so you don’t follow a completely different set of characters in each installment.

1. Winter by Marissa Meyer – This is the fourth and final installment in the lunar chronicles series and a mammoth of a book. Seriously, it has over 800 pages. I’m desperate to know what happens to Cinder, Kai, Iko, Scarlet, Wolf, Cress and Thorne. This series has been getting better with each book and I’ve only seen positive reviews for Winter – so I’m really happy it’s so long because I’m not ready to say goodbye to all of these amazing characters just yet. Also,  I’m so annoyed at myself for leaving this book at uni but I’m going to go to pick it up because I need answers.

2. Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare & Co. – I wasn’t planning on reading these novellas until they were released in a physical bind up, but it’s been advised that you read these before Lady Midnight. So I’m going to attempt to read all ten novellas this month.

3. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin – This was the buddy read pick for last month, unfortunately I wasn’t able to pick it up. I’m still really excited to read it though, so I’ve added it onto this months TBR.

4. Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater – This is another book which was on my TBR last month and is the third book in the raven cycle quartet. This month is also the month where the final book in this series is being released, so to prepare for that I decided to finally pick this one up.

I’m also hoping to read The Rose & The Dagger by Renee Ahdieh and The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater this month, but they’re both being released at the end of the month so I’m not too sure if I will be able to get to them but I’m hoping I can.

 

TBR Jar Challenge:

Because I’m currently at home, I don’t have my jar with me. So, for this month I’ve decided to use a random generator to pick which challenge I’ll be doing.

And the challenge for this month is… Read a Classic.

Okay, so I have a lot of options for this challenge and I’m not sure exactly which one I’ll pick up. Right now I’m leaning towards Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, just because I want an excuse to buy the gorgeous vintage classics editions.

Buddy Read of The Month:

This months pick is Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare. This was one of my most anticipated releases of the year, so I have no reason as to why I still haven’t read this. I’m glad it’s the pick for this month, because it will hopefully give me the motivation I need to finally pick this up.

What books are on your April TBR? Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned above? Which ones shall I read first? Tell me in the comments!

signature

3 thoughts on “Monthly To Be Read – April 2016

  1. A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

    Oooooh Wolf by Wolf! I hope you like it, I’ve been procrastinating buying it for a while now, so I’m going to try and get it this month!
    I’m going to try and squeeze in the Rose and the Dagger if I can, but as you said the release date is cutting it fine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

