Top Ten Tuesday (July 5th) – Books I Enjoyed That Have Under 5000 Ratings On Goodread

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in which you make a list of ten to do with a certain topic. This weeks topic is “Top Ten Books I Enjoyed That Have Under 5000 Ratings On Goodread”. 

The original topic actually asks for books with under 2000 ratings, but after looking at my goodreads I realized that list would probably consist of three books and that’s it (which would make this post way too short and boring). So I decided to up the number to 5000… which meant my list could consist of four books (five if you include the sequel)… which is better but it’s not great. I really need to start looking for more underrated books to read, so if you have any recs… sharing is caring.

Okay enough with the waffling… here’s my list:

243949281. For Holly by Tanya Byrne – You guys should know by now that I’m not a massive contemporary reader (honestly, I think I say this EVERY TIME I mention a contemporary book) but I surprisingly enjoyed this one. It follows Lola who is forced to move to Paris to live with her father and new step-mother. Lola’s mother has only recently died and she isn’t coping well. So being forced to move to a different country isn’t exactly what she wants. This was a really fast and entertaining read, which I’d definitely recommend you give a try. Especially if you like contemporary books. I did actually receive this book for review, so you can read my review here for a more detailed explanation of my thoughts.

2. Way Down Dark by James Smythe – This follows Chan, who’s a seventeen year-old 25202767living aboard the Australia – a ship. It is believed that hundred of years ago humans fled a crumbling earth aboard this ship in search of a new home. But Australia is not what it once ones, it’s been overrun by brutal gangs and their society is on the verge of collapsing. The thing that I loved the most about this book is that it doesn’t gloss over the brutality and hardship of life on the ship, which is often done in YA. Again, I have a review which you can read here.

234972143. Rite of Rejection by Sarah Negovetich – Yup, you guys expected it… I have a review which you can read here. Honestly I think the only underrated books I’ve read are from books publishers have sent me. Anyways, this book follows Rebecca who lives in a society where everyone must be tested by a machine that either accepts or rejects you. If you’re rejected you’re sent to the pits, a prison believed to host some of the deadliest criminals. When Rebecca is surprisingly rejected and sent to the pits, she is desperate to leave. There she reluctantly joins a group of misfits who are planning an escape. This does contain some pretty cliche dystopian tropes (from what I can remember) but it was still a good read. If you’re in the mood for dystopian give this a shot.

186674524. Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman – We all knew this was coming. I couldn’t write a post about underrated books without throwing in one of my all time favourite books now could I? If you like historical fiction, characters that have insane development, forbidden romances, a murder mystery and great writing… Read this. Please do us both a favour and read the book! You can read my review for this book here and also my five reasons you should read this book post…. because you need to read it. Also the sequel is pretty amazing too so I’d recommend you give both books a try.

As you can probably tell I’m in desperate need of reading some more underrated books, so tell me in the comments what are some of your favourite underrated books! Also, have you read any of these books? What did you think of them?

signature

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (July 5th) – Books I Enjoyed That Have Under 5000 Ratings On Goodread

  1. clemireads says:

    I haven’t read any of those! But in terms of underrated books, I would definitely recommend the Records of the Ohanzee series by Rachel Smith, and The Weaver’s Riddle series by Claire Marie Lucas!

    Like

    • ohbookish says:

      If you like historical fiction definitely check out Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman, it’s definitely my favourite from the list by far! Thanks for the recs, I’ll definitely add both series to my TBR they sound super interesting 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

