Monthly Wrap Up – April – June 2016

monthlywrapup

May marked the start of my two month long exam period, which meant my reading and blogging games were almost nonexistent. But before then, in April, reading was pretty low on my list of priorities (It was basically on the bottom of the list) already because of exam prep, last minute coursework deadlines and all the other boring stuff none of you really care about.

This is why I’ve held off on doing a wrap up post because honestly who wants to see a two book wrap up post? (Lets ignore the fact that pretty much all of my wrap ups this year have consisted of 2-4 books. Okay… Shhh… I procrastinate a lot, big deal?)

Now, without further ado let’s talk about the books I read in April, March and June.

April:

  • Cress & Fairest by Marrisa Meyer – These are books 3 and 3.5 in the lunar chronicles respectively. I really loved Cress, and like everyone else who has read this series (up until book 3.5, I’m not including Winter in this statement because it wasn’t out when I asked my friends) it was probably my favourite. Everything is finally exploding in Cress, and by that I mean the characters are almost all in the same, or very close, place to one another. As you can expect, if you’ve read up until book 2, a lot of, exciting and terrifying, showdowns occurred and it was everything I wanted from book three. I’m so excited to get to Winter because I need answers (and because I’m really excited to meet Winter, the character, because from what I’ve read she sounds fascinating). Unfortunately, I wasn’t the biggest fan of Fairest. Don’t get me wrong, it was still a well-written book but it didn’t feel necessary to the series. I did like learning about Levana’s backstory and there were moments I pitied her, but I couldn’t justify/understand her actions. I also don’t think it adds anything to the story, but I haven’t read Winter yet so maybe it’ll feel more relevant after I have read it.
  • The Moth & The Flame by Renee Ahdieh – This is a prequel novella set before The Wrath & The Dawn and it’s about encounters between Despina and Jalal. Now, I love both Despina and Jalal and I did really enjoy this. The only downside for me was that it was wayyy too short for my liking.
  • The Mirror & The Maze by Renee Ahdieh – This is another novella in the TWATD series, but this one is about Khalid coming back to Rey after the events of the first book. This one is only around 11 pages but those 11 pages were enjoyable. I love getting inside of Khalid’s head and seeing things through his perspective. If only Ahdieh had made both of these novellas longer.

May:


  • The Rose and The Dagger
    by Renee Ahdieh – aka my most anticipated release of the year. You guys all know how much I loved the first book in this duology, and whilst I really enjoyed the second book too, it just wasn’t as good as the first. I feel like  I would’ve liked this more if I wasn’t reading it just before my exams started. The whole knowing you should be studying because your exams are in three days and what the heck are you doing reading this book!?!?! can really put a damper on a story. I still gave it 5 stars though, because it was still an amazing, beautiful, fantastic [I’m running out of adjectives so insert more words meaning great here], read. I was also really happy with how everything turned out.
  • Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare & Sarah Rees Brennan – I was looking at goodreads to check if I’d finished this book in May or April and I realised this took me almost a whole month to read and it’s only 78 pages long. If that doesn’t tell you how slow the last few months have been for me in terms of reading, well then I don’t know what will. Anyways, this is the first novella in the Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy and they follow [SPOILER ALERT] Simon as he goes to the academy to be trained as a Shadowhunter (I feel like this was obvious and now I’ve wasted two seconds of your life making you read that… Sorry?) [END OF SPOILER ALERT]. I liked going back to the shadowhunter world, but we don’t get to see much of the characters from The Mortal Instruments series.
  • Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater – I love this series, I love the characters, I love the story, I love how it’s character driven and not plot driven. Honestly, this series is so weird but for some reason the weirdness works?

June:

My birthday month! Woo. I feel like throwing confetti all over this post so… *throws confetti and cake*

  • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater – I only finished this a couple of days ago and I still can’t decide what I want to rate this book. I did really enjoy it but there were some things I wasn’t happy with. [SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS] The entire series was leading up to finding ourselves a welsh king and then we find him and he’s actually dead? What what what? I’m going to be honest I was expecting it, but still… I was hoping he wasn’t. Also, Noah just being gone was disappointing. I thought they were going to find a way to bring him back. I was hoping they did. [END OF SPOILERS] And was I the only one who liked Henry’s character but couldn’t find myself caring enough about him/wanting him in the group? It’s nothing personal, I just think Stiefvater left it a little too late to make me love him as much as I love every other character. Maybe it’s just me, though. Overall, I did still enjoy this book and I do really love this series.
  • Ms Marvel, Vol 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson & Adrian Alphona – Picking this up was really random but I kept saying I wanted to read more comics/graphic novels and now I have. I haven’t got much to compare this too, since it was my first marvel comic, but I really loved the diversity (especially since I’m a Pakistani muslim too, so I could really relate to Kamala) within this comic and the art style was nice. I think this was a good introduction to Kamala’s character and I’ll definitely be picking up volume 2.
Those are all of the books I read in the April, May and June. Have you read any of these books? Did you like them? Also, if you read graphic novels/comics please give me a recommendation because I’m a newbie who feels lost (especially when it comes to marvel comics, you guys don’t know how many times I’ve googled marvel comics reading order)! Byeeeee.

signature

6 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up – April – June 2016

  1. lladyliterary says:

    I 100% agree with what you said about The Raven King! The ending didn’t settle as well with me as I would have liked either. Also, I love how you described the books as being character-driven rather than plot-driven! I’ve been searching for a way to describe TRC to people and that is totally it.

    Like

  2. lladyliterary says:

    I 100% agree with what you said about The Raven King! The end didn’t settle as well with me as I would have liked either. Also, I love how you described the books as being character-driven rather than plot-driven! I’ve been searching for a way to describe TRC to people and that is totally it.

    Like

    • ohbookish says:

      I feel like I was expecting so much from the ending because the entire series was so amazing but I guess nothing’s perfect? But I was thankful that almost every character got a happy ending (I don’t think I could’ve handled a tragic ending) but also the whole Noah thing still made me sad.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

