Booktube-A-Thon 2016; To Be Read

I only just shared my July TBR but I completely forgot that this is also the month that the summer booktube-a-thon happens. If you don’t know what the booktube-a-thon is you should go watch the videos on their channel for more information.

Last year I participated in my very first readathons and I had a lot of fun doing them. Usually, I hate having pressure on me to read a certain book or a certain amount in a specific time frame but I didn’t really feel that pressure during the readathons. Also, the booktube-a-thon has a bunch of youtube/twitter/instagram challenges where you can win some great prizes so it isn’t all about the reading but also about getting creative and getting involved on your respective platforms. I’ll most likely be taking part in the instagram challenges, so follow me @ohbookish if you’d like to see my entries.

The Challenges:

  1. Read a book with yellow on the cover
  2. Read a book only after sunset
  3. Read a book you discovered through Booktube
  4. Read a book by one of your favourite authors
  5. Read a book that is older than you
  6. Read and watch a book-to-movie adaptation
  7. Read seven books

My TBR:

  1. After Alice by Gregory Maguire – I’m currently reading this but I’m not very far in. If I don’t finish this before Monday I’ll be counting this towards my book with yellow on the cover because my edition has a very small amount of yellow (but it didn’t specify how much so it counts).
  2. Saga Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples – I’m going to pick this as the book to read only after sunset because it’s really short and I’m pretty sure I can get through it in one sitting
  3. Winter by Marissa Meyer – I’m currently listening to this but it’s a massive book so I’m sure I won’t be finishing it before the booktube-a-thon starts. If you’ve watched booktube you’ve probably heard of the Lunar Chronicles series it’s definitely where I first heard of the series. And on the off chance you have yet to here of this series, you should definitely check it out it’s so so so good.
  4. Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo – If I finish After Alice before Monday, this is going to be my new book for the book with yellow on it challenge. I’m also going to use this as the book by one of my favourite authors because if you’ve been reading my tweets recently you know I’ve been loving the grisha trilogy and Bardugo’s definitely become a recent favourite of mine.
  5. Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling – I’m going to YALC next next sunday and during the event there will be a Harry Potter party so I wanted to reread at least the first book for that anyway and also back in January I got a shiny new box sets of the books which I’ve been excited to read. I’ve also been planning a Harry Potter reread for a long time so why not start now? If I do read this book I’ll be using it for the read and watch a book-to-movie adaptation challenge. I was also going to use this as the read a book that’s older than you, but fun fact this book was first published exactly two days after I was born which means it’s younger than me.
  6. Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie – I read a peter pan retelling earlier this year, which made me realise I’d never actually read the original. This book was originally published in 1911 so it’s definitely way older than my 19 year old self.

If by some miracle I finish all of those books I’ll pick up Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo  to try and complete the read seven books challenge. I’m not a very fast reader anymore so I’ll probably only end up completing three of these books anyway.

Are you participating in the booktube-a-thon? What’s on your TBR? If you’ve made a post send me a link I’ll love to read it! And good luck to everyone who is participating!

signature

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Booktube-A-Thon 2016; To Be Read

  1. Holly says:

    Everyone seems to be reading Peter Pan lately!! Maybe I’ll have to jump on the bandwagon soon… Anyways, this looks like a great TBR! Harry Potter is always a perfect choice ❤
    Also, I love your blog! 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by mine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

