Reasons You Should Read The Lunar Chronicles

So recently on twitter I posted a number of tweets giving reasons why you should read the lunar chronicles, if you haven’t already. My tweets got an amazing response so I thought I’d share my reasons here, on my blog.

  1. There’s so much diversity. Character’s come in all different shapes, sizes and colours. The racial diversity within this book is honestly amazing.
  2. POC (people of colour) aren’t portrayed as stereotypical or in an offensive manner.
  3. And they’re [POC] aren’t used as the token POC character (by that I mean when an author includes an underrepresented character just to be like hey I included diversity but they either get killed off early on or aren’t given a major role in the story) but they play a HUGE role in the story.
  4. The main character, Cinder, is disabled but she never lets her disability deter her. Disable characters, especially in YA, are so underrepresented so seeing a disabled character in a SFF book is amazing.
  5. The characters aren’t one-dimensional. Sure we all know who’s on the “good” side and who’s on the “bad” side, but the people on the good side have done some questionable things and it gets addressed (It’s not glossed over which often happens).
  6. This might be a retelling but Meyer definitely makes the story her own.
  7. Great platonic male/female relationships and there are also some great female/female and male/male friendships too.
  8. Addresses discrimination within society, which is unfortunately still really relevant to our own world.
  9. Has a male sexual harassment/assault victim (KIND OF A SPOILER MAYBE? In Fairest, if those of you who’ve read are wondering why I’m saying this END OF THE MAYBE SPOILER).
  10. There are so many different personalities within this book that you’re more than likely to find at least one character who you’ll love.
  11. And of course, the great writing!
Have you read the Lunar Chronicles? If you have what book was your favourite? If not, have I convinced you to give it a chance? Tell me in the comments!

signature

17 thoughts on “Reasons You Should Read The Lunar Chronicles

  1. Holly says:

    I haven’t read this series, but after reading your post I definitely will! I have a friend who has been bugging me to read these books for AGES, but this was the final push haha 🙂

    Like

  2. serenebooks says:

    My favorite book was the finale, Winter! I personally love thick books as the last book in a series, because it is a guarantee that everything will be wrapped up smoothly *fingers crossed.* I was greatly satisfied with the ending and loved meeting Winter and seeing how she interacted with all the other characters.

    Like

  3. bookevin says:

    I can’t agree more with all the points you’ve highlighted. I hate the fact that authors feel like they are pressured to include diverse characters just so reader would like their work more.

    Great post, by the way!

    Like

    • ohbookish says:

      I agree, especially when an author only includes one poc and that character is a side character who is only added so that the author can be like “hey I include diversity in my books”. It’s frustrating. Thank you! 🙂

      Like

  4. Lizzy says:

    I’m torn between Scarlet and Winter for my favorite books. I loved Scarlet’s story, but I also loved the way everyone came together and there was such a hopeful ending. Winter as a character I really liked too – I think because while her anxiety/depression is presented as an illness and she recognizes it as such, she refuses to be truly broken or be a victim.

    Like

    • ohbookish says:

      I loved Winter so much and she’s definitely an underrated character! I loved how she wouldn’t use her lunar gift even though it made her suffer, it was so admirable. I always struggle with which book was my favourite but Winter was definitely amazing in terms of everyone interacting and how the story was wrapped up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

