Monthly Wrap Up – July 2016

monthlywrapup

We’re officially over halfway through 2016 already, that’s insane! I’m also over halfway with my reading goal for this year, which is awesome (I’m secretly hoping I can read more than 50 books this year but I didn’t want to set my goal higher in case I struggled to meet it).

I’ve decided I’m going to change things up a little bit with my wrap up posts. Instead of giving each book a mini review like I would usually do I’m going to tell you what I rated each book, talk about my favourite reads briefly, link back all of my previous blog posts and finally talk about anything else exciting that happened in the previous month.


What I Read This Month:


This month I started listening to audiobooks for the first time ever, which is probably why I read way more books than usual. I’ve only previously listened to audiobooks in school a really long time ago and I remember really hating it. Probably because we had to answer questions about what we listened to after and I clearly was not paying attention to it. I do think I’ll continue listening to audiobooks so if you have any recs let me know!

I will say that the one audiobook I wasn’t much of a fan of was the Ruin and Rising audiobook. I really loved the story and how the series came to a conclusion, but the narrator read far too slowly for me 9even when I sped it up to 2x the speed). I think if I reread the series I would probably read R&R and not listen to it.

My favourite read of the month was definitely Winter by Marissa Meyer. I absolutely love the lunar chronicles and I was so thankful that the final installment was so long. I also really enjoyed the grisha trilogy and the ms marvel comics (mainly because I could really relate to Kamala being a Pakistani Muslim in a western country myself which was great). I definitely want to read more marvel comics so if you have any recs, again let me know! Also, if you know the reading order for marvel comics it would be really helpful because I’m so lost trying to decide what to read right now.


YALC + LFCC:

I mentioned previously that I was hoping to attend yalc and lfcc this year and… I DID AND IT WAS AMAZING. I only went to Sunday but one year I plan to go to all three days (but I was exhausted after one day so maybe I wouldn’t survive three days). I didn’t actually go to that many panels because there wasn’t many I wanted to go to on Sunday but I did attend the Maggie Stiefvater talk and signing. She was super funny and nice! I didn’t get to get a picture with her unfortunately because the moderator person wouldn’t let me (she was running out of time so I totally understand why but I’m still kind of disappointed). Whilst we were waiting for the signing we also took part in the Harry Potter party which was really fun (and also made me realise I need to reread the books asap). Slytherin didn’t win the house cup… we were robbed! (just kidding! but seriously dumbledore totally robbed them in book one).

picture4picture6
These are pictures of an actual cake showing harry under the stairs…
some people are SOO crazy talented it’s amazing.

Besides going to panels we walked around looking at stalls and collecting free bookish swag. Which actually made me realise how awkward and shy I really am since I didn’t even want to grab anything even though they were freebies. I did eventually get over it and get some great stuff including a crooked kingdoms sampler which i’m so excited for (I don’t usually read samplers but I might make an exceptions for this one).

picture5We also walked around lfcc. It was so cool to see how much lfcc has grown since the first time I ever attended the event. Unfortunately we didn’t get to go to the game center which was probably my favourite place the last time I went to lfcc, so if I go again next year I’ll definitely make sure I spend some time in there!

picture3


On The Blog:


Overall, I think I had a pretty good reading and blogging month for once so I’m very happy and I hope I can have a similiar experience in August (or even better but lets not get our hopes up). What books did you read in July? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? Tell me in the comments!

signature

 

7 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up – July 2016

  1. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    It looks like you had a great month! 😀 I’m really happy to see that you enjoyed The Grisha trilogy – it is one of my favourite after all. I’m currently reading Cinder (I’m loving it!) and I hope that I can get my hands on the other books from this series as well. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

