Series Overview – The Lunar Chronicles

post2112139510

Author: Marissa Meyer 
Series: The Lunar Chronicles
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction
Release Date(first book): 3rd January 2012
Publishers: Puffin
Source: Purchased
Buy at: 
BookDepository

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.
Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.


What I Liked:
  • The racial diversity of the characters
  • How the characters have very different personalities but they compliment one another very well
  • Meyer wove the different fairy tales together flawlessly
  • She also made each fairy tale her own and gave them unique twists
  • The whole concept of a cyborg Cinderella
  • The platonic relationships within this book, I do think friendships are often overlooked in books so I’m glad we had so many in the lunar chronicles!
  • I actually did a whole post on why you should read the lunar chronicles so click here to read it!
What I Didn’t Like:
  • Winter, the book, did feel slightly repetitive/draggy at parts
  • Fairest, not because the book was bad but because I didn’t feel like it really added to the story. You could probably skip this book and still understand everything.
Do I Recommend It?

One Quote Per Book:
  • “I’m sure I’ll feel much more grateful when I find a guy who thinks complex wiring in a girl is a turn-on.” ― Cinder
  • “I just think we shouldn’t judge her, or anyone, without trying to understand them first. That maybe we should get the full story before jumping to conclusions. Crazy notion, I know.” ― Scarlet
  • “You said yourself that the people of Luna need a revolutionary.” She lifted her chin, holding his gaze. “So I’m going to Luna, and I’m going to start a revolution.” ―  Cress
  • “Maybe the princess could save herself.” “That sounds like a pretty good story too.” ―  Fairest
  • “Yeah, but broken isn’t the same as unfixable.” ―  Winter
Favourite Cover:

22489107

Favourite Book:

This is tricky, I really loved each book for different reasons. I loved cinder because it’s what started it all of, scarlet because everything became more complicated than I’d expected it to get, cress because I just really enjoyed the different arcs within that book, and winter because everything was so explosive and action-packed.

But ultimately I think I’m going to go with Cress just because like I said I really loved all of the story arcs.

4.5stars

 

9 thoughts on “Series Overview – The Lunar Chronicles

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    This is a great post! And very useful, too, since I haven’t actually read this series and am considering picking it up for once and for all. I’ve been hearing sooo many good things but it’s nice to have it laid out like this – glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed the series. 🙂

    Like

  2. TeacherofYA says:

    Isn’t it a great series? I can’t believe Meyer was able to effectively tell a story from so many points of view, and effectively at that! She’s a master storyteller.
    That’s why I’m hoping to like Heartless. It’s driving me crazy to have to wait so long.

    Like

  3. Kelly says:

    This post it awesome! I have all the Lunar Chronicles book except Fairest and the stories collection that recently came out, but I’ve yet to read them. To be honest, I might even skip Fairest, since you mentioned that it might not even be necessary. Either way, this post reallllly made me want to read the series!

    Like

    • ohbookish says:

      You can definitely skip fairest, it does give you a bit of a backstory on Levana but the majority of it is set in the past so you can even read it after you’ve finished the main four books. I’d recommend you read up to book 3 and if you really love the characters and story then read fairest too (it’s technically book 3.5), if you’re a bit meh about the whole thing then I’d probably just go onto Winter instead.

      Like

Leave a Reply

