Diversity Spotlight Thursday #1

diversityspotlightthursday

I recently made a post talking about why we need more diverse books, and writing that post made me realize I’d like to showcase more diverse books on my blog. So finding this meme was the perfect opportunity to do just that.

Diversity spotlight Thursday is a new meme created by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Each week, you discuss three books: one that you’ve read, one that’s on your TBR and one that hasn’t been released yet. If you wan to know more about this meme you should read the announcement post on Aimal’s post.

A Book I’ve Read:


12000020Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz 

Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

I actually only finished listening to this book last night. If you’re going to read this book I’d definitely recommend you audiobook it because Lin-Manuel Miranda narrates it and it’s such a perfect narrator choice. I’ve seen a few people say they disliked this book because nothing really happens, but I think the whole mundane-ness of this book made me love it even more. I didn’t know anything about this book going into it, besides the main character’s names, and I think that’s the perfect way to go into it. This book contains LGBT+ characters and also characters of colour.

 A Book On My TBR:


25733660The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

She is the most powerful Jinni of all. He is a boy from the streets. Their love will shake the world…

When Aladdin discovers Zahra’s jinni lamp, Zahra is thrust back into a world she hasn’t seen in hundreds of years—a world where magic is forbidden and Zahra’s very existence is illegal. She must disguise herself to stay alive, using ancient shape-shifting magic, until her new master has selected his three wishes.

But when the King of the Jinn offers Zahra a chance to be free of her lamp forever, she seizes the opportunity—only to discover she is falling in love with Aladdin. When saving herself means betraying him, Zahra must decide once and for all: is winning her freedom worth losing her heart?

As time unravels and her enemies close in, Zahra finds herself suspended between danger and desire in this dazzling retelling of the Aladdin story from acclaimed author Jessica Khoury.

This book was on my TBR for this month, but sadly I don’t think I’ll get to it before the month is almost over. I do intend to roll it over onto September’s TBR because I’m still very excited to get to it. It’s also been getting fantastic reviews on goodreads which is usually a good sign. This book contains people of colour, I believe.

A Book Releasing Soon:


Labyrin27969081th Lost by Zoraida Cordova

“Enchanting and complex. Every page is filled with magic.”-Danielle Paige, New York Times best-selling author of Dorothy Must Die

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange marks on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…

The early reviews of this book have been really good. It’s about a bisexual latinx witch and there’s a f/f romance too! I don’t think I’ve read very many if any f/f romance books so I’m very excited to give this one a try.

This book will be released on September 6th 2016.

Have you read any of the books I mentioned in this post? What did you think of them? Do you have any diverse book recommendations for me? Tell me in the comments!

signature

8 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #1

  1. clemireads says:

    I read your post on diversity the other day and I loved it, so I decided to join this meme as well! Aristotle and Dante has been on my TBR for ages, and I only heard good things about it, I really need to check it out.

    Like

    • ohbookish says:

      This meme is definitely great if you’re a lover of diverse books/want to help promote more of them 🙂 Ari and Dante is a great read, also if you’re a Hamilton fan I’d definitely recommend the audiobook because Lin (the creator of Hamilton) narrates it and it’s fantastic!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks says:

    1) Your graphic is perfection. T_T
    2) OMFG, did Lin-Manuel Miranda really narrate Ari & Dante? Omg, I had NO idea. I haven’t seen/heard Hamilton, but I’ve seen a few of his interviews and he seems like the chillest, most amazing guy. Maybe I’ll re-‘read’ Ari & Dante just to see how he narrates it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

