Book Review – Six of Crows

post22.png23006119
Author: 
Leigh Bardugo
Series: Six of Crows
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Release Date: 29th September 2015
Publishers: Orion’s Children’s Books
No. Pages: 491
Source: Purchased
Buy at: BookDepository

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.


When I first finished this book I didn’t plan to write a review. Why? Because I knew I couldn’t do it justice unless I wrote an essay and no one would want to read a post that long.

Six of Crows has been receiving high amounts of praise since it was released and it deserves each and every single positive review. This is hands down the best book I’ve read all year.I usually try not to add to the hype, but this book deserves it.

The story follows six characters, known collectively as the dregs, as they attempt an impossible heist. Their goal; infiltrate the ice court, a place no army or grisha (magic wielders) has been able to penetrate, and retrieve a scientist whose creation could lead to endless destruction.

My favourite aspect of this book was the characters, they made the story for me. This is a cast of very unique and complex individuals, whose different characterization compliments one another. They’re not heroes and Bardugo doesn’t shy from showing that to us. I’m not usually someone who likes every single main character in a book but I definitely adored all six of the dregs. Here’s three words to describe each of them:

  • Kaz Brekker – Ruthless, intelligent, leader.
  • Inej Ghafa – Badass, acrobat, favourite.
  • Matthias – Great character development (Anything else could kinda be spoilery so I’ll keep quite)
  • Nina Zenik – Confident, sassy, beautiful.
  • Jesper – Witty, skilled, flirty.
  • Wylan – Underestimated, unknown, interesting.

For someone who enjoys reading about diverse characters, this book felt like I hit the jackpot. Within her cast of characters, Bardugo has included characters of colour, lgbt+ characters and even characters with varied body shapes. These minority characters aren’t pushed to the sidelines, like you often find, but are very much apart of the main six. Other authors looking to include diversity within their books in a non-offensive/non-stereotypical way could definitely learn a thing or two from Bardugo.

There are romances in this book but they definitely don’t take the center stage. I really enjoyed all of the canon pairings, they were all really different from one another but all of them were all very cute and angst-y in their own way.

Six of Crows is set in the same universe as Bardugo’s other series the Grisha trilogy (you don’t need to have read it before reading this book, but I would recommend you do!). Instead of being based in Ravka, we find ourselves in Ketterdam (which is inspired by the netherlands I believe). One of the things I was disappointed about in the Grisha trilogy was that we did not get to explore more of the world but that’s rectified in Six of Crows. The world building is complex and gives the reader a very vivid picture on what the universe is like. Six of Crows does reference back to the grisha trilogy and does spoil slightly how it ends, but it isn’t anything major. You’ll also understand the grisha universe better if you read her trilogy first but again, it isn’t a necessity.

Whilst I was a massive fan of Bardugo’s grisha trilogy, she’s definitely improved so much as a writer since. The authentic characters she’s created mixed with the riverting plot has made this my favourite read of 2016 so far. I’m itching to get my hands on the sequel.


5stars


 

22 thoughts on “Book Review – Six of Crows

  1. trust in tales says:

    This sounds like a really exciting story! I love well-developed characters with a focus on diversity, and personality-wise they sound like a total mixbag. Will definitely be putting these on the to-read list – and on that note, I’m glad you shared, despite not being able to write a gigantic essay. 🙂

    Like

  2. bookishthingsandtea says:

    This book was so phenomenal, and I’m honestly a little scared for how much I think Crooked Kingdom is going to break my heart. This was a fantastic review, and I totally relate to you on having to write an essay for it!

    Like

  3. Leyanis M says:

    This sounds badass! It has been in my tbr pile for awhile now but I don’t want to read it until the sequel is released just in case I absolutely loved it and can’t live until the sequel XD

    Like

  4. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

    This book has been sitting on my shelf for so long. After having loved Leigh Bardugo’s previous series and hearing all the praise Six of Crows has been getting I need to stop procrastinating and read it already lol. Hopefully before the year is over! I loved reading your review and it has definitely gotten me more intrigued for this.

    Like

    • ohbookish says:

      You really need to read it soon, especially if you liked the grisha trilogy. 😉 Leigh’s grown SOO much as a writer since that series and it’s evident in Six of Crows. I loved the grisha trilogy but this is on a whole other level!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lex says:

    I’ve heard sooooooooooooooooooo much about this book, and each time I hear about this book its always wonderful comments about how amazing it is. I don’t know why I’ve put off picking up this book for so long. Definitely a must read soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

