Monthly Wrap Up – August 2016

monthlywrapup

August was both a really good and really bad month for me. In terms of reading, August was horrible. I got in a really bad reading slump that I still haven’t found a way out of. In terms of blogging, it was amazing. I finally wrote a post on a topic that’s been something I’ve wanted to talk about for a very long time but I was never sure of how to word the post or how it would be received by everyone. It got an amazing reaction and it also helped so many new people find my blog. If you’d like to read that post it’s my why we need more diverse books post.


What I Read This Month

⇒     Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – ★★★★★ [Read my review here]
⇒     Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin – ★★★★★ [Review coming soon]
⇒     Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe by Benjamin – ★★★★

In terms of quality, I had an amazing reading month. In terms of quantity, not so much. I really enjoyed everything I read this month, so it’s really hard to pick my favourite but I think I’ll have to go with Six of Crows. This was everything I was looking for in a book, it had morally questionable characters, the characters were so so diverse (which you’ve probably realized from the post I mentioned above is very important to me) and it had an amazing plot. It’s also the book I blame my reading slump on because it was so good that I don’t think any other fantasy book could match up to it. Wolf by Wolf also deserves an honorable mention because if I hadn’t read Six of Crows this would’ve definitely been my favourite. Since everything got a 4+ star rating from me this month I won’t/can’t pick a least favourite read.

 1 2

I’ve mentioned before in my diversity spotlight #1 post that if you’re planning to read Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe I’d highly recommend you audiobook it. Lin-Manuel Miranda, who is the creator of the Hamilton musical and an amazing human being, narrates it. I don’t know if it’s because I absolutely adore Lin or because his narration was just that good (I suspect it was a combination of both), but it made me love the book even more.

I’m going to briefly talk about  A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. You might be wondering why since it isn’t mentioned in the list of books I read this month, but I actually did read half of this book. Then my reading slump hit, which I’ve deemed the great fantasy slump of 2016, and I had to put it on hold. I do plan to continue but I’m not sure when, since the book was pretty slow and I think it’ll just push me deeper into the slump. If you’ve read it does it pick up? Shall I finish it?


On The Blog

Reviews:

Top Ten Tuesday:

Discussion Posts:

Other:

Monthly Posts:

Like I mentioned above, I had an amazing blogging month. Not only in terms of writing a post I’ve been wanting to share for some time now, but also in terms of stats and finally getting used to my posting schedule. I know I’ve only just established this posting schedule, but I’ve been considering posting on Saturday AND Sunday instead of Saturday or Sunday. I’m not too sure if I’ll add the extra post each week to my schedule because I’m going back to University soon (either this month or next month, I’m not too sure which because I haven’t got my schedule yet) so I’ll be super busy then. I might add in the extra post whenever I have an idea for another post, but for now I’m still debating about it. If you’d like to see the extra post, let me know.


Bookstagram

I was trying to come up with something interesting to talk about, but my month was pretty boring and nothing worth talking about happened. So instead I decided to talk about my bookstagram (which I guess is kind of exciting and something related to it happened this month). I’ve mentioned a few times before on my blog that I’m a huge lover of bookstagram. Books and photography are both something I really enjoy, so bookstagram is the perfect social media for me.

Unfortunately, I noticed that I was pretty awful at interacting with people on bookstagram and that over half of my followers were inactive. This realization killed a lot of my motivation for posting on there, so after speaking with a few friends I decided it was better if I restarted my account. And that’s what I’ve done.

 3 4 5

I’m so much happier since I restarted my account and I’m a lot more active. I promised myself that if I made a new account I would reply to comments on my pictures, spend some time liking AND commenting (I was really bad at this before because I was always too scared I was annoying people or being very generic with my comments) on other people’s posts. I’ve been fairly good at keeping up with this and it’s made me enjoy bookstagram a lot more. If you’d like to follow me my username is @ohbookish.

Speaking of bookstagram, I’ve always contemplated writing a post about bookstagram for my blog. It would probably be a “how I take my pictures” or a “5 tips for new bookstagrammers” post. If you’d enjoy a post based around bookstagram please let me know!


Okay, this post is getting super long now, so I’ll stop here. Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned? Did you enjoy them? What was your favourite read of August? Do you bookstagram? Would you like to start a bookstagram? Did anything interesting happen to you this month? Tell me in the comments!

signature

14 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up – August 2016

  1. Aldii says:

    You read Six of Crows and Wolf by Wolf, books I have been dying to read and I´m happy to see you enjoyed!
    I have a similar problem in bookstagram but I´m trying to change, I´m a huge lover of bookstagram!
    I would love to read your post!

    Like

  2. Lex says:

    I actually just picked up the Six of Crows audio book because Audible was having a sale. I’m super excited to get into it. I’ve also been thinking about getting into bookstagram so I would love to see a post about that. I’m so happy that you had an outstanding blogging month, and I hope the great reading slump of 2016 ends soon! haha

    Like

    • ohbookish says:

      I hope you enjoy it, it’s really good! Have you read her grisha trilogy yet? If not, I’d recommend you read it first. It isn’t as good as SOC but it’s still really good + it’ll help you understand the world a bit more since she does more world building in that trilogy than in SOC (although she does still explain the important stuff in it too).

      You should definitely join bookstagram it’s a lot of fun.

      Thank you 😀 and haha so do I.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lex says:

        Oh perfect! I actually didn’t know about the Grisha Trilogy, I’ve just heard so many great things about SOC. I’ll definitely look into it, thanks for the rec!

        Like

  3. Emily Alfano says:

    I felt the same way this month! All the books I’ve been picking up were fabulous and i had none that were 3 stars or less which is great because I’ve been flying through all the books I’ve been reading as a result! I need to catch up on my Goodreads goal! LOL.
    Perfect timing to read Six of Crows with Crooked Kingdom on the way! Did you see the preorder gift for it?! IT’s fabulous!!!
    Emily @ http://www.rabbitholereviews.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

