Most Anticipated Releases – September 2016

September is an exciting month for releases. It’s also a terrible time for my bank account.

This is the first month where I was really tempted to ignore my rule of talking about only 5 books each month and making a list of 6-10 books. However, in the interest of keeping these posts a reasonable length, I’m going to ignore the temptation and stick to my regular list of 5 books.

Also, I’ve decided to do these post in chronological order of their release dates. Usually I write them in whatever order I open their goodreads pages but  I think this is a much more organised way to do it. It probably won’t even make much of a difference to the post itself but hey, it’ll make me feel a little more professional.


post4


30408280 Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

I fall to my knees. Shattered glass, melted candles and the outline of scorched feathers are all that surround me. Every single person who was in my house – my entire family — is gone.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange markings on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…

Beautiful Creatures meets Daughter of Smoke and Bone with an infusion of Latin American tradition in this highly original fantasy adventure.

Something I’ve realized as I grow up and my reading tastes have changed is that I want to read more diverse books. I now appreciate how important it is to read about people with different cultures, sexualities and religions than your own. That’s why I’m now actively looking for books featuring POC or Lgbt+ characters. I first heard of this book from one of my friends, which led to me to look it up for myself. It sounds amazing and not only does it feature a latinx character, she’s also a bisexual witch and there’s a f/f relationship which is SO rare in YA.

This book will be released on the 6th September 2016

23203252A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessia Cluess

I am Henrietta Howel.
The first female sorcerer in hundreds of years.
The prophesied one.
Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames.
Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she’s shocked when instead of being executed, she’s invited to train as one of Her Majesty’s royal sorcerers.

Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the chosen one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, handsome young men eager to test her power and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her.

But Henrietta Howel is not the chosen one.
As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their own secrets to protect. With battle looming, what does it mean to not be the one? And how much will she risk to save the city—and the one she loves?

I believe this is a historical fantasy novel, which are two of my favourite genres combined. I’ve heard really good things about this book (although looking on goodreads now there have been a few not so good things mentioned) and the concept is intriguing so I’m excited to give this one a go.

This book will be released on the 20th September 2016

28962906Stalking Jack The Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

I’ll admit I didn’t actually know what this book was about when I first added this to my TBR. The cover + the title + the glowing reviews were enough to make me want to read it. Now that I do actually know what it’s about, it sounds like something right up my alley. I’m hoping this lives up to the hype.

This book will be released on the 20th September 2016

30240773Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Three sisters. One crown. A fight to the death.

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose . . . it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

How cool does this book sound? It has been getting fairly mixed reviews so I was hesitant about including it in this list, but ultimately I am still very excited to read this despite the reviews so I decided to keep it in the list. There are also three different covers in the UK, one for each sister.

This book will be released on the 22nd September 2016

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo 22299763

The Synopsis of Six of Crows (book one): 

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…
A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

If you read either my review of six of crows or my wrap up post you’d know how much I absolutely adored the first book. I have such high hopes for this book and if it meets my expectations Leigh Bardugo is definitely going to be added to my “auto-buy” authors list, because I’ve loved everything she’s put out so far.

This book will be released on the 27th September 2016

Six of Crows is definitely my number one most anticipated release of this month (and the rest of the year). Were you lucky enough to receive an ARC of any of these books? If so, what did you think of them? Are you interested in reading any of these books? What books are you anticipating in September? Tell me in the comments!

signature

 

6 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Releases – September 2016

Leave a Reply

