Monthly To Be Read – September 2016

monthlytbr

If you read my wrap up for August you’d know lately I’ve been in a very awful reading slump. Fortunately, I do think I’m out of it now. I’m still hesitant to try and pick up a fantasy book, since that’s the genre which made me feel very slumpy, but since I own mostly fantasy books and have mostly fantasy books on my TBR I’m still going to include some on this months TBR.

I’m hoping I can read more this month than I usually would, to make up for last month, which is why this TBR is very over ambitious but since I may be going back to uni this month (I haven’t received my timetable yet so I’m not too sure if I’m going this month or next month) I probably won’t get to all of these books.


TBR Jar Challenge(s)

Read a graphic novel/comic bind up –

I’m rolling this challenge over from last month since I knew which book I wanted to read to complete it but my slump was so bad that I couldn’t even bring myself to read it. Like I mentioned in last months TBR I’ll be reading Saga, Volume 2 by Brian K. Vaughan for this challenge.

Read a book that’s been on your shelf for over a year – 

This challenge was another one chosen for last month but was obviously not completed.Since it was picked again for this month I’m pretty determined to complete it this time. I’m not 100% on what book I’ll read for it but right now I’m still leaning towards The Darkest Minds by Alexndra Bracken.

Read a 2016 release – 

Picking a book for this was probably the easiest out of all of the challenges. I’ll be reading Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. I mentioned this in my most anticipated releases of September post but if you missed that post this is the second book in the Six of Crows duology. I absolutely adored Six of Crows (so much so that I’ve proclaimed it my favourite read of 2016 so far) and I have such high expectations for this book.


Buddy Read(s) Of The Month 


Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

This book follows Tiger Lily, a girl who never believed in happy endings or love stories until she meets Peter Pan. Immediately she’s falls under his spell. I only recently read the original Peter Pan story and I really enjoyed it, so I’m excited to go back to Neverland and see how Anderson had made the world her own. I’ve heard nothing but positive things about this book, so I’m very excited to finally be picking it up. Although I’m also very scared to read this since I’ve heard it’s heartbreaking and I’m not ready to experience all the feelings.

All the Melina Marchetta Books – 

This month me and a group of friends on twitter are planning to read/reread Melina Marchetta’s books. This is going to be my first time reading any of her books and I’m very excited since I’ve heard so many positive things about her books. We finished reading Jellicoe Road yesterday and I really enjoyed it. It’s actually the book which dragged me out of my reading slump so bonus stars to it for that. I’m not sure what we’re reading next or how many of her books we’re going to get to this month but hopefully we get to all of them.


Books For Review

Before the year is over I’m hoping to get my netgalley ratio up to at least 60%, I’m currently at 34% so I’ve got a lot of reading and reviewing to do. I’m hoping to read two/three books from netgalley each month, but depending on if I’ve received other books for review in a month this number might go up or down.

Lying Out Loud by Kody Keplinger –

I’ve started this but since I’ve only read one chapter I don’t really have an opinion on it yet. This follows Sonny, a girl who excels at lying, together with her friend Amy plan to prank Ryder, the infuriating new kid at school who has a crush on Amy. However, Sonny finds herself falling for Ryder and comes up with an elaborate plan to make him see she’s the one he really wants. I did have problems with Keplinger’s The DUFF, so I’m hoping I enjoy this one more.

A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe – 

So when I read the summary of this book I knew I had to request a copy. The story follows Sora who believes she is the Kami princess only to discover she is a human changelling and the powers she believed to be hers were only borrowed. Now, she must train the real princess to stop the ghostly army. This book will be released on the 13th September 2016.

The Fray Theory: Resonance by Nelou Keramati

I was contacted by the author asking me to review this book. Neve lives in a world where déjà vu and premonitions are dismissed as coincidences. However, after her nightmare comes true the very next day Never is determined to decipher the enigma. This book came out on the 31st of August 2016, so if you’re interesting in reading it you should definitely get yourself a copy.


Other Books I Want To Get To

Since my TBR is already pretty long and I’m not too sure if I’ll get to these books I’m only going to mention their titles quickly. If you’d like to know more about them click the title and it’ll lead you to the goodreads page!


Have you read any of the books I mentioned above? What did you think of them? What books are on your TBR for this month? Tell me in the comments!

signature

15 thoughts on “Monthly To Be Read – September 2016

  1. Holly says:

    I definitely need to read more of Melina Marchetta’s books because I love Jellicoe Road so much. I read Saving Francesca a few years ago, but I don’t really remember what it’s about– time for a reread! Happy September!

    Like

  2. Deborah @ Hills of Books says:

    Ooooh have never heard of A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe, but I like the angle it is taking. The only angle of this plot I have ever read is from the POV of the person discovering they have these undiscovered powers and heritage. I look forward to reading your thoughts on this one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

