Diversity Spotlight Thursday #2

diversityspotlightthursday

Diversity spotlight Thursday is a new meme created by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Each week, you discuss three books: one that you’ve read, one that’s on your TBR and one that hasn’t been released yet.

I wasn’t able to participate last week because of scheduling issues, but I’m back with my second diversity spotlight Thursday post!

A Book I’ve Read


18798983The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.

If you’ve been following my blog since the start of this year you’d know this was tied for first spot of my favourite read of 2015. The writing is so beautiful, the characters are interesting and the romance is so god damn angtsy I couldn’t sleep until I knew what would happen between the two (Seriously, it was the first book in a long time I read in one sitting).

A Book On My TBR


27211734The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

It was the kind of August day that hinted at monsoons, and the year was 1774, though not for very much longer.

Sixteen-year-old Nix Song is a time-traveller. She, her father and their crew of time refugees travel the world aboard The Temptation, a glorious pirate ship stuffed with treasures both typical and mythical. Old maps allow Nix and her father to navigate not just to distant lands, but distant times – although a map will only take you somewhere once. And Nix’s father is only interested in one time, and one place: Honolulu 1868. A time before Nix was born, and her mother was alive. Something that puts Nix’s existence rather dangerously in question…

Nix has grown used to her father’s obsession, but only because she’s convinced it can’t work. But then a map falls into her father’s lap that changes everything. And when Nix refuses to help, her father threatens to maroon Kashmir, her only friend (and perhaps, only love) in a time where Nix will never be able to find him. And if Nix has learned one thing, it’s that losing the person you love is a torment that no one can withstand. Nix must work out what she wants, who she is, and where she really belongs before time runs out on her forever.

I actually got an ebook sent to me back before this was published but then I got really busy with school and wasn’t able to pick it up. It sort of fell of my radar after that until now. I had no idea this had a biracial MC until I saw it on someone’s diverse book recommendations thread. I’m definitely going to try and pick this up next month!

A Book Releasing Soon


28763485The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

I was really excited about Yoon’s previous book, Everything Everything, but it was another book that fell off my radar but now that I’m actively trying to read and support diverse books and authors I’m definitely going to make sure I get to this one. I haven’t even read the book and I’m already terrified for Natasha and Daniel. I hope they get their happy ending (I have so many theories on how they could).

This book will be released on November 1st 2016

Have you read any of the books I mentioned in this post? What did you think of them? Do you have any diverse book recommendations for me? Tell me in the comments!

signature

10 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #2

Leave a Reply

