Top Ten Tuesday (Sep 13th) – Favourite Fantasy Books

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in which you make a list of ten to do with a certain topic. This weeks topic is “Top Ten Favourite Fantasy Books”.  

72193Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling


I couldn’t make a list about my favourite fantasy books without including Harry Potter. I don’t think I even need an explanation for why this book made the list because almost everyone has read and loved it.

23437156Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo


This is a recent addition to my favourites. I only just read this book last month but it was so good. The world is fascinating, the magic system fits perfectly within the story, the characters are some of my all-time favourites and the plot is never boring. I’m beyond excited for the sequel!

18798983The Wrath And The Dawn Duology by Renee Ahdieh


I’ve spoken about this book a lot on my blog so it should come to no surprise that it’s including on this list. This was hands down my favourite fantasy read of 2015 and I read a lot of fantasy books last year. Not only does this book have beautiful writing and a romance that will make you scream but I could not put it down until I’d read the final page. Something I hadn’t done for a very long time.

11788809A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin


I’ve only read the first two books in this series but the world is so complex, all of the characters are multidimensional and the plot is very political heavy (which I adore). If you’re intimidated by the sheer size of this series, I’d honestly recommend you force yourself to pick up the first book because it’s so worth it.

17756559The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski


This is another series that’s very heavy on the politics. The main character, Kestrel, is so badass but not in your traditional sense. Her weapon of choice is how smart and manipulative she is. I know a lot of people deem this a “half-fantasy” because it lacks a magic system, but I honestly don’t think it needed one.

11235712The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer


I wasn’t too sure if I should include this because some classify this more as science-fiction than fantasy but then I checked goodreads and more people have this on a fantasy shelf than a science-fiction one. Despite the fact that this series is based around fairytale retellings, Meyer still finds a way to make each fairytale her own and she’s also intertwined the different fairytales skillfully.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater 17675462


I’m not a massive lover of paranormal fantasy anymore but I had to include this series on my list. If you like character-driven books this one would be perfect for you. The story is so whimsical and weird – honestly, half the time I wasn’t sure what was going on but it works. The characters are what truly made the story for me, though.

26802894Truthwitch by Susan Dennard


This is the first book in a new fantasy series, and I loved it. If you like books which emphasize the importance of friendships this one is for you – there’s a beautiful f/f friendship as well as a m/m one. I do have to warn you though, that this book chucks you into the deep end from the first chapter and it can take a while before you grasp everything.


What is your favourite fantasy book/series? Have you read any of the books I mentioned above? What did you think of them? Tell me in the comments!

signature

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (Sep 13th) – Favourite Fantasy Books

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Great list! Loved TWATD and The Winner’s Curse, though I struggle categorising the latter just because it’s not really a fantasy in the strictest sense of the word. It definitely doesn’t need any magic to be a great book, though. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

