Top Ten Tuesday (Sep 20th) – Audiobooks I’d Like To Listen To

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in which you make a list of ten to do with a certain topic. This weeks topic is “Top Ten Audiobooks I’d Like To Listen To”.  

I’ve only recently started listening to audiobooks and I have to say; I have no idea why I was so against them before. Audiobooks are great for when you’re going on a walk, commuting somewhere or doing household chores. Since I’ve started listening to audiobooks the number of books I’ve read each month has increased by 2-3 books.

If you’re hesitant about listening to audiobooks I’d recommend listening to a book you’ve already read to try them out. That way you already know the story so it’ll be easier to get into.

768889A Storm of Swords: Part 1 by George R. R. Martin


I think this will probably be the next book I listen to. I decided I’d probably audiobook this instead of reading it because it took me around 8 months to finish the last book. Not because the books was bad but because these books require a lot of attention and I can never just read one or two pages, I have to have at least an hour to sit down undisturbed and read.

26074181The Crown by Keira Cass


I just finished listening to The Heir on audiobook a few days ago and I surprisingly liked it (I’ll talk more about this in my upcoming wrap up). Since these audiobooks are only around 4hours (at 2x speed) I’ll probably listen to it during my commute to uni next week (which is about 2 hours either way).

72193Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling


A Harry Potter reread is long overdue. I don’t know when I’ll get to this but I’ve almost completed my goodreads challenge which is making me feel better about rereading books.

10165727Froi of The Exiles by Melina Marchetta


I just finished reading the first book in this series yesterday and I absolutely loved it. Since I still need to read a few books before I can get to this I thought about maybe listening to it instead. I’m not 100% on if I’ll audiobook this or not though, because the plot to the first one was very confusing at times so it might be easier to keep up with everything that’s happening if I’m reading it for myself. We’ll see though.


Since I tend to prefer listening to contemporary books because they’re easier to get into and follow, the next six books are all going to be contemporaries. I have no specific reason for why each book is on this list but I’ve been planning to read them all for a while now and so will probably audiobook them at one point during my commutes to and from university.


Do you listen to audiobooks? What are some of your favourites? What genre do you tend to audiobook the most? Have you read/listened to any of the books I mentioned above? What did you think of them? Tell me in the comments!

signature
10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (Sep 20th) – Audiobooks I’d Like To Listen To

  1. Valerie says:

    I haven’t been able to get into audiobooks yet. But maybe one day I will? I have tried fantasy, but it didn’t work out for me. So maybe I should follow your example and only listen to contemporaries!

    Like

  2. Jolien @ The Fictional Reader says:

    I love the harry Potter audio books narrated by Stephen Fry! So good. I really like the narration of the Riyria series by Michael J. Sullivan, and the Gentleman Bastard series by Scott Lynch as well. And if you like Jesse Eisenberg’s voice, he actually narrates the Curse Workers series by Holly Black 🙂

    Like

  3. TeacherofYA says:

    Never done an audiobook…don’t know if I have the attention span to listen for that long.
    Even when I was a kid and my mom read to me, I was dying to take the book myself and read it! Eventually I started reading to my little brother (only 11 months younger).

    Like

Leave a Reply

