Book Review – Everything, Everything

A23664731uthor: Nicola Yoon
Series: None
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Release Date: 3rd September 2015
Publishers: Corgi Children’s
No. Pages: 310
Source: Netgalley
Buy at: BookDepository

Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. So allergic, in fact, that she has never left the house in all of her seventeen years. But when Olly moves in next door, and wants to talk to Maddie, tiny holes start to appear in the protective bubble her mother has built around her. Olly writes his IM address on a piece of paper, shows it at her window, and suddenly, a door opens. But does Maddie dare to step outside her comfort zone?

Everything, Everything is about the thrill and heartbreak that happens when we break out of our shell to do crazy, sometimes death-defying things for love.


Warning: This book deals with abusive parent(s), PTSD and illnesses

Before I get into the review I want to warn you that I actually audiobooked this but I flicked through a copy after and saw that there are some illustrations in the book so if you don’t want to miss out on them you should probably read it instead of listening to it.

Everything, Everything follows eighteen year-old Madeline, who suffers from SCID. A rare condition which means she cannot leave her sterile home because she’s allergic to the outside world. When a new family moves in next door, Maddie is drawn to the new boy, Olly, and she finds herself taking risks she never would’ve taken before.

Maddie felt very authentic as a character. She could be extremely selfish at times, but she also loved her mother immensely. Although, I did question how realistic it would be for someone with her condition to be as reckless as she was. I also probably would’ve been more convinced by the risks she was taking if they felt like she was doing them for herself instead of a boy. She’s also Afro-Asian so it was great reading a book with a POC main character, which we definitely need more off.

This book has a major case of insta-love. It didn’t bother me immensely because I could see why Maddie, who barely had any face-to-face interactions with anyone besides her mother and nurse (Carla), would be so eager to develop a friendship/relationship with someone. Although I still would’ve preferred if they’d developed more of a friendship first which later turned into a relationship, instead of them just suddenly being in love. Despite the insta-love, I did find their relationship cute and I enjoyed Olly as a character.

I really liked the writing style which was a mix of emails, random notes Maddie had made and her thoughts – the mixture made the book really fun and quick to read.

I don’t usually like to talk about the twists in book but I’m going to mention it briefly because I think you’ll either love this book or hate it, depending on how you receive the twist. I personally, don’t know exactly how I feel about the twist. On one hand I thought it was unexpected and unique, but on the other hand I can also see how it cheapened the rest of the book. I believe if Yoon had focused more on things after the twist instead of pre-twist I might’ve loved this book more.

I did really enjoy this book overall though and I look forward to reading more of Yoon’s work.

3-5stars

5 thoughts on “Book Review – Everything, Everything

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    I’ve heard a LOT about this book: I’m glad that someone gave it less than 5 or 4 stars because it sounds good and I don’t have time for anymore books, lol!! No more good reviews!! 😂
    No, seriously though, excellent review. Very thoughtful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

