Diversity Spotlight Thursday #5

diversityspotlightthursday

Diversity spotlight Thursday is a new meme created by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Each week, you discuss three books: one that you’ve read, one that’s on your TBR and one that hasn’t been released yet.

A Book I’ve Read


18692431Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster

I’m not going to keep this brief because I’ve recently published a review for this book. I actually audiobooked this but I’d recommend reading it for yourself since when I looked through a copy I saw there were some illustrations. Besides the instalove which I did not like and the ending which I’m still on the fence for, I did really enjoy this. This book contains a biracial protagonist.

A Book On My TBR


22299763Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

The synopsis is for the first book in this duology (Six of Crows)

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

This is the second book in the Six of Crows duology, which we all know I love a lot. It actually only came out two days ago but I haven’t read it yet because uni has started so I’m super busy. I plan to just binge read this over the weekend though! This book contains POC and lgbt+ characters. The story is also really amazing so if you haven’t read the first one you should!

Read my Six of Crows (book 1) review here.

A Book Releasing Soon


28220826When The Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore 

When the Moon Was Ours follows two characters through a story that has multicultural elements and magical realism, but also has central LGBT themes—a transgender boy, the best friend he’s falling in love with, and both of them deciding how they want to define themselves.

To everyone who knows them, best friends Miel and Sam are as strange as they are inseparable. Roses grow out of Miel’s wrist, and rumors say that she spilled out of a water tower when she was five. Sam is known for the moons he paints and hangs in the trees, and for how little anyone knows about his life before he and his mother moved to town.

But as odd as everyone considers Miel and Sam, even they stay away from the Bonner girls, four beautiful sisters rumored to be witches. Now they want the roses that grow from Miel’s skin, convinced that their scent can make anyone fall in love. And they’re willing to use every secret Miel has fought to protect to make sure she gives them up.

The majority of diverse books are often contemporaries (at least the ones I’ve read). So I’m super excited to find something different. This book is actually coming out in 5 days, so we can all read it very very soon!

This book will be released on October 4th 2016

Have you read any of the books I mentioned in this post? What did you think of them? Do you have any diverse book recommendations for me? Tell me in the comments!

signature

4 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #5

Leave a Reply

