Monthly Wrap Up – September 2016

monthlywrapup

Can you believe it’s already October? This month my second year of uni officially started, I helped create a book club (more on that below) and of course, I read a bunch of books. This is probably going to be my last “big” wrap up post, since I’m going to be very busy with classes for the rest of the year. I am going to try and keep up with my posting schedule by drafting posts in advance, but I may have to adjust the days I post on. I’ll keep you guys updated if they do change!

The only good thing about uni starting again is that I have a two hour commute, an hour of that is an uninterrupted train ride which gives me time to read!

What I Read This Month


⇒   Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta – ★★★★★
⇒   Lying Out Loud by Kody Keplinger – ★★ [Read my review here]
⇒   The Lost Herondale by Cassandra Clare & Robin Wasserman – ★★★★★
⇒   Saga, Volume 2 by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples – ★★★★
⇒   Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – ★★★1/2 [Read my review here]
⇒   Saved By The Bell by Joelle Sellner – 
⇒   The Heir by Kiera Cass – ★★★ [Review coming soon]
⇒   Finnikin of The Rock by Melina Marchetta – ★★★★★
⇒   A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas – ★★★1/2 (I might review this book since I have kind of mixed feelings about it – which is an unpopular opinion since everyone adores it)


I’m so grateful that my slump disappeared this month. There were times in September where I thought it was coming back but thankfully by the end of the month I’m slump
untitled-1free.

My favourite read this month was hands down Jellicoe Road. I will warn you that this book is really confusing at the beginning and you’ll have no idea what’s going on but push through. Marchetta drops little hints throughout the book, which makes you think you know where it’s going but you probably won’t guess the direction of the story until she wants you to. I’m already planning a reread of this book.

I also really loved the other Marchetta book I read this month, Finnikin of The Rock, which is
the first book in a fantasy trilogy. I did have a hard
time getting into it because of my fantasy slump, but once I pushed through the first few chapters I loved untitled-2the story and the characters. I can’t wait to read the sequel this month.

My least favourite read was obviously the only one star rating I gave out this month. I really wanted to like Saved by the Bell.I was a huge fan of the show back in the day, so I was really excited when I saw this on netgalley. Unfortunately, the only thing I liked about this was the colourful art style. This tried really hard to imitate the 90s humor which made the show so popular but ultimately every joke fell flat.I was incredibly bored throughout and I contemplated DNFing this multiple times.

Keep It Diverse!


14310860_435943713241215_3916754902570762240_nLike I mentioned above I created a new book club with some friends. Keep It Diverse is an online bookclub dedicated to celebrating diverse books and authors. Each month we’ll be reading one book written by either a marginalized author or a book featuring a diverse cast of characters. We’ve just selected our first book of the month, The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig, so if you’d like to join us now’s a perfect time to grab a copy!

If you’d like to join the book club you can follow us on twitter, instagram or join our goodreads page. We’d love to have you join and I look forward to discussing the BOTM with you all.

On The Blog


Reviews

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin – Lying Out Loud by Kody Keplinger – Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon


Top Ten Tuesday 

TV Shows I Need To Watch/Continue (06/09/2016) – Favourite Fantasy Books (13/09/2016) – Audiobooks I’d Like To Listen To (20/09/2016) – Books On My Fall TBR (27/09/2016)


Discussions + Other Posts

Diversity Spotlight #2Beyond The Pages: Netgalley  – Diversity Spotlight #3 – Diversity Spotlight #4 – Diversity Spotlight #5


Monthly Posts

August Wrap Up – Most Anticipated September Releases – September To Be Read


Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned? Do you plan to read any of them? What was your favourite read of the month? What’s something exciting that happened to you this month? Will you be joining my book club? Tell me in the comments!

signature

5 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up – September 2016

  1. Lizzy says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t love ACOMAF! 😦 Not all books are for everyone though.

    I love the premise of your book club! I’m horrible about reading stuff on time, so I won’t “officially” join but I’m keeping an eye on your selections…I have a feeling a lot of them will end up on my TBR list.

    Like

  2. Lauren says:

    I’m glad you got out of your reading slump-my September was just the opposite. It’s too bad that you didn’t like A Court of Mist and Fury. Do you think you’ll continue the series?

    Also, I think I’ll be checking out Finnikin of the Rock. I’d been waiting for some more good reviews before I picked it up. Happy October 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

