Top Ten Tuesday (Oct 4th) – Favourite Villains

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in which you make a list of ten to do with a certain topic. This weeks topic is “Top Ten Favourite Villains”.  

Anyone who knows me personally would know I have a fondness obsession for good villains. For me a villain can make or break a story. You can have a great hero in your story but if your villain is mediocre I probably won’t enjoy it as much.

I won’t be making a list of ten because I only want to talk about the villains I truly enjoy.

10194157The Darkling from The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo


There’s one villain that comes to mind automatically when I think about my favourite villains and he’s the darkling. Maybe it’s the fact that I only read this trilogy not too long ago or maybe it’s the fact that the darkling is one of the most despicable characters I’ve had the pleasure to read about? But I love him. The Darkling is everything I love in a villain. He’s dark, charming, powerful and thinks he’s working towards a noble cause. Honestly, I think it would be more surprising if I didn’t like him.

72193Voldemort/Tom Riddle from the Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling


Voldemort is the character that started my unhealthy love of villains. I know he’s evil and nothing that happens in his past can justify it. Yet I find his complicated past so interesting that as a character I can’t help but be intrigued by him. It also doesn’t help that I had a small crush on the actor who played Tom Riddle in Chamber of Secrets. Random fact: a lot of people who know me in real life associate me with Voldemort.

18667452Hitler from Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman


This might be a strange one to be include on my list because Hitler isn’t a fictional character but a real person. However, this isn’t based on the real person but on his portrayal in Blankman’s story. I just loved how she made him seem calm and collected until our main character finds out how evil he really is and then he’s transformed into a deranged lunatic. It’s great and works really well for the story.

11235712Queen Levana from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer


Levana is just… awful, but again she has a messy past and truly believes she’s doing what’s best for the people of Luna. Which, naturally, means I like her character dynamic. I’ve always said that fairest isn’t needed in the series, but looking back I may need to retract that statement slightly. If you’re interested in learning a villain’s complicated past and seeing why they’ve become the way they are, you should definitely not skip it.

256683Valentine from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare


I have to confess something, it’s been a long time since I read the first three books in this series. So maybe including Valentine isn’t fair but I just remember really enjoying his character whilst reading it. I actually went to Cassie’s signing back when the City of Bones movie was being made, and she asked me who my favourite character was… You can probably guess who I said [spoiler alert: it was valentine].


Are you a fan of villains or heroes? Who are some of your favourite villains? Do you think a good villain is vital to a hero’s story? Tell me in the comments!

signature

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (Oct 4th) – Favourite Villains

Leave a Reply

