Monthly To Be Read – October 2016

monthlytbr

I have a feeling this month is going to be a fairly good reading month. My university is a two hour commute from my house, so I have plenty of time to read during the journey since classes have started back up again. I’ve also already finished two books and we’re only a week into October, so things are looking good.

TBR Jar Challenge


I only have three challenges from my TBR Jar left to complete, and since there are three months remaining in 2016, I’ll only be doing one challenge per month again.

Read A Book By An Author You’ve Never Read Before –

I have a lot of options for this one and I’m leaning towards a few books but the book I’m most likely to read for this challenge is The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson. I included this on last months TBR post, and on a few TBRs before that. Yet I keep putting it off, when I know I’m going to love this book/trilogy. All of the books are out now and I own two so there’s really no need for me to keep putting it off any longer.

Buddy Read(s) Of The Month


The Bronze Key by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black –

I’ve been really awful with my buddy reads, but I still hope to catch up on all of our previous books chosen. At least I know I’ll probably get to this one this month since I’ve enjoyed the previous two books in this series. I don’t have a copy of this yet so hopefully it arrives before the month is over, or I can find a copy at the library. This book is the third book in the Magisterium series by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black. A lot of people compare this series to Harry Potter and whilst it does have some similar elements, the plot seems to be heading in a completely different direction to Harry Potter.

Keep It Diverse Book Club’s Pick Of The Month – 

If you didn’t know me and some friends have started a new book club dedicated to reading and promoting diverse books. If you’d like to join the book club you can follow us on twitter, instagram or join our goodreads page. Our first book of the month is The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig, so feel free to join us and read along with us.

Books For Review


My netgalley ratio has improved a lot since my last post so this month I’m focusing more on the physical copies I have that I need to review, than the eARCs I have. I’m not 100% on which ARCs I’ll get to but my top three are:

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold – 

I heard some mixed reviews about Arnold’s previous book, Mosquitoland, which caused me to avoid it altogether. However, I’ve been seeing much more positive things about this novel so I requested a copy from bookbridgr. I’m actually planning to read this next so I should have a review up soon!

The next two books are ones I’ve rolled over from last month. I unfortunately didn’t get to either of these but they’re still a high priority for me so I’m including them on this months TBR too. They are A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe and The Fray Theory: Resonance by Nelou Keramati.

Other Books I Want To Get To


Froi of The Exile by Melina Marchetta

I read the first book in this trilogy last month and I absolutely loved it. I’m so excited to continue on with the series since I’ve heard it gets better with each book. If you love complex fantasy books then you should definitely give this series a shot!

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson – 

This was our buddy pick read of the month for September, which I obviously did not get to. I am majorly failing at reading the buddy picks. I do still really want to get to this and the book isn’t super long so hopefully this month I do.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – 

I’ve had this book on my shelf for ovet two years and when I originally purchased it I was super pumped to get to it. Then the hype around the series died and my excitement dwindled. Since it’s October, aka the perfect time to read something creepy/spooky, I decided I’d add this to my TBR in the hopes I finally get to it.

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North –

This is one of those rare books that I picked up knowing next to nothing about it. I still haven’t seen very many reviews for it, but the ones I have seen have always been positive. Lately, I’ve been itching to pick this up so I thought I might as well include it in this post since it’s very likely I’ll read it soon.


What books do you plan on reading in the month of October? Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned above? Did you enjoy them? Will you be joining my book club? Tell me in the comments!

signature

3 thoughts on “Monthly To Be Read – October 2016

  1. jkimexploring says:

    I’m reading The Girl From Everywhere, Stalking Jack the Ripper and Into the Beautiful North right now and then I am doing a couple picks from my jar which are just topics and I’m going to pick those closer. I really hope you enjoy all of your books this month. I really want to read Kiss of Deception, but I haven’t gotten it yet so I’d love to hear what you think of it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

