Book Review – The Heir

24965992Author: Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection series
Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance
Release Date: May 6th 2015
Publishers: HarperCollins Children’s Books
No. Pages: 342
Source: Netgalley
Buy at: BookDepository | Wordery | Amazon

Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has enchanted readers from the very first page. In this fourth romantic novel, follow Illea’s royal family into a whole new Selection-and find out what happens after happily ever after.

Eighteen years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won Prince Maxon’s heart. Now the time has come for Princess Eadlyn to hold a Selection of her own. Eadlyn doesn’t expect her Selection to be anything like her parents’ fairy-tale love story…but as the competition begins, she may discover that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought. A new generation of swoonworthy characters and captivating romance awaits in the fourth book of the Selection series!


When this book was announced there were mixed feelings about it, and I was very firmly on the side of that The Selection series should’ve stopped at The One. That being said, that whilst I was not the biggest fan of the selection series to begin with, I did very much enjoy how light and fast those books were, so I was willing to give The Heir a chance.

Warning: This review will contain spoilers for the first three books in the selection series. If you haven’t read those books yet but would like a brief non-spoilery review on them you can read my series overview post

The Heir picks up twenty or so years after The One. The story follows Princess Eadlyn, the daughter of America and Maxon and the heir to the throne, as she’s forced to host her very own selection. I wasn’t a huge fan of American and found her indecisiveness to be very frustrating but that does not compare to how I felt about her daughter. Eadlyn is annoying, spoilt and rude. There’s a difference between being confident and being pompous, our main character is definitely the latter. She’s constantly going on about how powerful and better she is than everyone else, and treats others like absolute crap. There’s a scene within the book where she insults a maid by saying her fiancé is too good for her because he’s studying at university and she’s just a maid and then when the maid walks out this is her response:

“She didn’t even curtsy. “Neena, I was simply talking!” The door slammed, and I looked after her, shocked that she so shamelessly left without permission. I hadn’t meant to offend her. I was merely curious, and that one observation didn’t even begin to touch on the things I truly wanted to ask about. I finished my hair and makeup on my own. When the substitute maid showed up, I sent her away. Just because Neena was in a bad mood didn’t mean she could get out of her work. I could take care of myself, and she could clean tomorrow. “

Considering she’s the daughter of the two people who fought so hard to abolish the caste systems you’d think she’d know better. Honestly, I don’t think there was a single thing about Eadlyn that was likable. I don’t know if this was intentional, but even if it was I do think Cass went a bit too far because it’s going to take a lot for me to change my opinion on her in the next book.

I did like some of the other characters including Eadlyn’s brothers (who were surprisingly not spoilt brats). It was nice to see characters from the first three books but I also had a hard time imagining them as adults instead of the teenagers they were at the start of the story.

Overall, there wasn’t anything amazing about this book. It’s very similar to the other books in the series, so if you’re a fan of them you should continue on. The writing is good and the story reads quickly.

I will be continuing this series, simply because there is only one book left and the ending of The Heir has me curious.

3stars

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review – The Heir

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    Yes, I agree with Jacquie, the next book is better. However, Class should have just stopped the series when she was ahead, IMO. Eadlyn was unlikable and unrelatable. I liked seeing America and Maxon as grown up versions of themselves…but that’s pretty much it.
    I just was disappointed with this sequel to the original series, so I get your rating completely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

