Top Ten Tuesday (Oct 18th) – Characters I’d Name A Pet After

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in which you make a list of ten to do with a certain topic. This weeks topic is“Top Ten Characters I’d Name A Pet After”.  

I’ll be honest, every time I find a character name that I like I always think about how that name would be perfect for any future pets of mine. I can’t be the only one who does this, right?

11788809Rhaegar Targaryen from the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin


I don’t know what it is about this name but if I ever got a pet this would definitely be what I called it. It may have something to do with the fact that Rhaegar is my favourite character in the series, even though he’s technically not in the series (If you’ve read the books you’ll know what I mean).

11788809Elia Martell from the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin


I think ‘Elia’ is a really pretty name and honestly I’d probably even name a future potential child of mine this. Until then, I’d settle with just naming a goldfish Elia because lets be real that’s probably the only pet I’d be able to look after.

22819449Genya from The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo


I was debating whether to include ‘Genya’ or ‘Zoya’ in this list but honestly both names are really pretty. I tend to really like most of the names Bardugo chooses for her characters.

16069030Arin from The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski


So I may or may not have stolen this from Roshar, but don’t you think Arin would be the perfect name for a tiger?

giphy

6339664Patch Cipriano from the Hush Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick


This series has a lot of mixed reviews and whilst I did finish all four books I can see why. But despite what I thought about the story I can’t deny I always thought ‘Patch’ would make a great name for a dog.

23437156Jesper Fahey from the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo


Again, I loved all of the names in this duology and could probably have picked any one of the dregs to feature on this list. I picked Jesper for two reasons: 1. It was the first I thought of and 2. I love Jesper. Maybe I should just buy 6 goldfishes, one for each dreg?

13623817Raffe from the Penryn & The End of Days trilogy by Susan Ee


This is another one where I read the name and instantly thought “this could be the perfect name for my non-existent pet”. If I had to pick the type of pet I’d name Raffe, it would definitely be a dog.

256683Chairman Meow from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare


Another one I technically stole the idea from the book since this is a cats name in the series. But I mean, come on… How perfect would it be to name your cat Chairman Meow?

11235712Captain Thorne from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer


I know his name is technically Carswell Thorne, but I think Captain Thorne would make an awesome name for a hamster so we’re going with that. He could even pretend his little wheel was his ship.

7171637Jem Carstairs from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare


I’ll confess before writing this post I’ve never thought about having a pet called Jem, but he’s one of my favourite characters from TID and I’d love to have a pet named after him. Honestly, I’d probably feel bad if I had a pet called Jem and not Will so I’d buy another one just because Jem and Will should never be separated.


What book character would you name a pet after? Do you have any pets who are named after fictional characters? Tell me in the comments!

Find me here:

Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads | Instagram | Bloglovin | Email


signature

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (Oct 18th) – Characters I’d Name A Pet After

  1. Laura (PSILoveThatBook) says:

    Nice! I would choose Maven for a cat, Cal for a dog, Corr for a horse (lol Corr IS a horse anyway), Darkling for a black cat, Rhy for a hamster with Kell ofc they must be together… and I think that’s it (?) I probably forgot a ton but oh well 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

