Monthly Wrap Up – October 2016

monthlywrapup

I’m going to admit that I’m slightly grateful that October is finally over. Life and uni really overwhelmed me this month and I was looking forward to the fresh start a new month brings. That being said, I did have a pretty decent reading month.

What I Read


⇒ Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – ★★★★★ [Read my review here]
⇒ The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken – ★★★3/4
⇒ The Demon In The Wood by Leigh Bardugo – ★★★★
⇒ The Witch of Duva by Leigh Bardugo – ★★★1/2
⇒ The Tailor by Leigh Bardugo – ★★★★
⇒ The Too-Clever Fox by Leigh Bardugo – ★★★
⇒ Little Knife by Leigh Bardugo – ★★★1/2
⇒ Kids of Appetite by David Arnold – ★★★ [Review coming soon]
⇒ The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson – ★★★ 
⇒ The Bronze Key by Cassandra Clare & Holly Black – ★★★ 
⇒ The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson – ★★★★


I think it’s pretty obvious which was my favourite read of October 2016. Crooked Kingdom was everything I wanted in a sequel and more. I already have a full review up for it so I won’t spend too much time rambling on about how much I adored it. But I will say that I’ve never been so terrified for the safety of my favourite characters in my life. Also, if you haven’t read this duology yet you should really fix that asap.

Picking a least favourite this month was hard because there were a few books that were slightly disappointing. The first being The Darkest Minds. I had TDM on my TBR for more than two years, I believe, so for me to still be interested in it was down to the fact that despite that this trilogy was finished two years ago, so many people continue to rave about it. So, naturally my expectations for this book were extremely high, maybe even unfairly high. To be fair, I did actually enjoy the book and I do plan to continue on with the series but from this installment alone I was expecting something more. I do still see the potential in the story and I think it’ll head in a direction I like but my expectations have been lowered for the remaining two books. If you’ve read this trilogy what did you think about it? Are the next two books better?

7 6 8

The next one that didn’t live up to my expectations is one I’m very sad about. You guys know how excited I was to read The Kiss of Deception. The whole concept of not knowing who the assassin and the prince were had me so excited. Unfortunately, I guessed the identity of the characters almost as soon as they met our protagonist. So whilst I still really enjoyed the world and the characters, the plot for the majority of the book didn’t wow me. However, I really enjoyed the sequel, The Heart of Betrayal, a lot more and I’ve heard the third book is even better.

The final disappointing read I’m going to talk about is The Bronze Key. I am planning to do a full review on this very soon, so I’ll keep this brief. I’d forgotten a lot of what happened in the previous two books so I do think that’s why I found this one very hard to get into. I enjoyed the second half a lot more but because I predicted the ‘major’ direction the plot was going in, it didn’t shock me as much as it should’ve. That being said, there were a lot of twists I didn’t see coming.

Life + Blogging Update


Like I mentioned above uni has really overwhelmed me these past few weeks. I had my first major assignment due in yesterday so I spent a large portion of October working on it. I completely forgot how much more stressful doing assignments for uni are compared to school, and I’m not looking forward to the invertible late nights I’ll be having for the rest of this academic year.

I also had to decide whether I wanted to do a placement year or not last month, and since I was on the fence on whether I should do one or not I had a huge weight on my shoulders whilst I struggled to make up my mind. I also had to fill in loads of applications and meet those deadlines just in case I decided I did want to do one. It was just super stressful and I’m still not sure if I’ve made the right decision so this month may also be me just stressing over this placement year and whether I should actually do it.

You guys may have notice I’ve gotten super terrible at posting when I say I’ll be posting and that’s because of all of the things above. I’m hopefully going to start scheduling posts well in advance so I don’t have another period of time where I barely post. Especially since I have another big assignment due in 6 weeks (yikes).

I’ve also been awful at responding to comments, which I want to apologize for. I love receiving and reading your comments and I promise that I will respond to them soon. Just bear with me whilst I adapt to balancing school and blogging again.

Also, happy late halloween everyone!

On The Blog


Reviews

The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo – The Heir by Kiera Cass – Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Top Ten Tuesday

Favourite Villains (04/10/2016) – Books I Read Because of Twitter (11/10/2016) – Characters I’d Name A Pet After (18/10/2016) – Creepy Books I Want To Read (25/10/2016)

Discussions + Other Posts

Diversity Spotlight #6

Monthly Posts

September Wrap UpOctober To Be ReadMost Anticipated October Releases


Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned? Do you plan to read any of them? What was your favourite read of the month? What’s something exciting that happened to you this month? How do you juggle school/work and blogging? Tell me in the comments!

Find Me Here

Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads | Instagram | Bloglovin | Email


signature

3 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up – October 2016

  1. Geronimo Reads says:

    Wow, you read a lot! I really want to read Six of Crows.. I’ll have to get to it eventually. Your photography is so beautiful! I’m sorry to hear school as been stressful. It’ll be worth it in the end, though. Maybe talk to a counselor and try to lighten your schedule a little bit for next term? That helped me out a lot when I was in school!

    Like

Leave a Reply

