Monthly To Be Read – November 2016

monthlytbr

If you’ve read my October wrap up post you’d know how overwhelmed I’ve been with university recently. That’s why I want to keep this TBR relatively small so I don’t feel pressured to read loads when I should really be studying or working on an assignment.

This is probably going to be my most realistic TBR too, so maybe I’ll actually be able to read every single book on my TBR for once (fingers crossed). However, I do think the books I do end up reading may be different to the ones I talk about in this post just because there are a number of books I want to get to before the year is over so they’re all constantly shifting in priority.

I’m currently reading The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig and The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. I’m not very far into either of them but so far I’m enjoying them both.

TBR Jar Challenge


Read The First Book In A Series – 

There are quite a few series I want to start but have been putting them off because of the sheer number of series I’ve yet to complete. But this challenge gives me the perfect excuse to finally start one of them. For this challenge I’ll be reading Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch, which also happens to be mine and charley @ bookinnerd‘s buddy read pick of the month. I don’t know much about the plot, but I believe it follows a group of exiles who’re trying to find a way to reclaim their kingdom. The premise reminds me a little of Finnikin Of The Rock, which I loved. So, I have high hopes.

Buddy Read(s) Of The Month


Keep It Diverse Book Club’s Pick Of The Month –

This month we’ll be reading Under The Painted Sky by Stacey Lee, which is a historical fiction novel following Samantha, a Chinese girl who dreams of being a musician, and a runaway slave named Annamae. It’s set during the gold rush era but that’s all I know about the plot. If you’d like to read along with us make sure to follow us on twitter, instagram or join our goodreads page.

Books For Review


Long Dark Dusk by J.P Smythe – 

This month I’m very much focusing on the physical review copies I have, since I don’t have an ereader to take with me during my commutes and I don’t want to drain my phone battery by reading on it. I read Way Down Dark , book one in this series, late last year and enjoyed it a lot more than I expected to. This trilogy is a lot more darker and grittier than most YA books I’ve read so if you don’t really like that sort of thing you should probably avoid this. This series follows Chan, a teenage girl who lives aboard the Australia – a spaceship. The residence of the ship have always believed their ancestors fled earth after it became unlivable on to find a new planet to call home, but after a hundred years of floating in space with no end destination in sight the ship has been overrun by deadly gangs. After her mothers death, Chan struggles to stay alive as she starts to uncover some truths about Australia.

Other Books I want To Ge To


A Storm of Swords Part 1 by George R. R. Martin

It usually takes me a couple of months to read one of these books. Not because they’re bad but because there’s so much going on and the plot is so complex that I can’t just read one or two pages a day I need to have at least an hour to read a large chunk. I am hoping I can finish this in less than a month because I do want to finish all of the books before the final season of the show airs.


What books do you plan on reading this month? Have you read any of the books on my TBR? What did you think of them? Tell me in the comments!

Find Me Here

Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads | Instagram | Bloglovin | Email


signature

3 thoughts on “Monthly To Be Read – November 2016

Leave a Reply

