Top Ten Tuesday (Nov 15th) – Book Adaptations I Want To Watch

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in which you make a list of ten to do with a certain topic. This weeks topic is a movie freebie so I’ll be talking about the “Top Ten Book Adaptations I Want To Watch”.  

I’m not a massive fan of book to movie/TV show adaptations just because they’re not usually that great. I understand that you can’t possibly fit everything that happens in a 300 page book into an adaptation, especially in a movie, but a girl can dream.

Personally, I do wish this trend of adapting every single popular YA book would go away soon but nonetheless there are still some released/upcoming adaptations that I’m looking forward to.

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner


If you don’t know this is the second book in The Maze Runner series and was not so recently adapted into a movie. I’m not a huge fan of these books. I read all four (the latest installment wasn’t out when I read them) and found them lacking that wow factor. I did love the concept behind the stories and I personally think that concept worked a lot better in the movie. I enjoyed the first movie a lot more than the book and so my expectations for this sequel are very high.

A Series Of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket


I’m currently reading these books for the first time in preparation for the upcoming Netflix show. I know the movie adaptation of these books was considered a flop but I remember enjoying it and it’s what attracted me to the books. Hopefully the show doesn’t flop because it does look like it’s going to be really good.

The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey


I only read the book this year and I liked it. I haven’t seen many reviews for the movie though, so if you have watched it already did you enjoy it? Was it faithful to the book? I plan to watch the movie before I read the second book.

The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins


This is still showing in the cinema here in London but I haven’t read the book yet so I won’t be seeing it. I watched Gone Girl before reading it which has completely killed my desire to pick it up since I think these types of books are best goin
g in blind. I don’t want the same thing to happen with The Girl On The Train so I’ll definitely read it before watching the movie.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes


I haven’t read this yet either despite the fact that it was one of mine and Charley @ Bookinnerd‘s buddy read of the month picks. I do plan to read it and then watch the movie. Although I’ve heard mixed things about both the book and the movie. If you’ve read/watched it what did you think of it?

The Martian by Andy Weir


I do know that this movie is incredibly whitewashed which is annoying and makes me glad I didn’t go to the cinema to watch it. I still need to read the book but if I enjoy it I’ll watch the movie.

 


Find Me Here

Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads | Instagram | Bloglovin | Email


signature

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (Nov 15th) – Book Adaptations I Want To Watch

  1. Jolien @ The Fictional Reader says:

    I really want to watch The Girl on the Train. I actually read the book 2 weeks ago or so, but didn’t really love it. I think I’d actually like the movie more. And I’m really excited about the Netflix version of A Series of Unfortunate Events! I hope it’ll be great.

    Great list, and I hope you’ll enjoy these adaptations 🙂

    Like

  2. Holly says:

    I’m really excited for the new Series of Unfortunate Events Netflix show as well! The cast is great, so hopefully it lives up to our expectations! Great list 🙂

    Like

  3. wonderfilledreads says:

    I enjoyed The 5th Wave movie but I haven’t read the book yet so I can’t make any comparisons for you. The Girl on the Train was an alright movie, but only because Emily Blunt’s acting was awesome. I, unfortunately, figured out the twist at the beginning of the movie and thought it was lackluster and overhyped.

    Like

  4. Jane the Raincity Librarian says:

    I do think you’d be better off seeing the Girl on the Train without reading the book, it would help keep some of the suspense. I honestly did not really enjoy the book at all, though I’ve heard from friends that the audiobook version is quite good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

