Top Ten Tuesday (Dec 06th) – Books I’m Looking Forward To For The First Half Of 2017

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish in which you make a list of ten to do with a certain topic. This weeks topic is “Top Ten Books I’m Looking Forward To For The First Half Of 2017”.  

I want to put a little disclaimer here quickly because these aren’t ALL of the books I’m excited for and there may be books not mentioned in this post that I’m more excited for than the ones mentioned (real life is currently overwhelming me so I didn’t have much time to research this post minus a quick google search). Nonetheless, lets talk about some of the books I’m looking forward to for the first half of 2017.

These books are in order of their release date and not by how excited I am for them.

25613472A List of Cages by Robin Roe


This book follows Adam, a kid with ADHD, who is working as the aide for the school psychologist. One day the doctor tells him to track down a troubled freshman and Adam discovers it’s his foster brother, Julian, who he hasn’t seen in five years. At first he’s ecstatic but  when Adam discovers Julian is hiding something from him he’s determined to find out what it is and to help him. This book has already received loads of positive reviews and since I’ve barely read any books with characters with ADHD (I think Percy Jackson is the only one?) I’m very excited to read this.

This book will be released on January 10th 2017

32930224Caraval by Stephanie Garber


Caraval is an invite only week long performance held once a year where the audience participate in the show. When Scarlett and her sister, Tella, finally get their invitations they’re ecstatic. However, soon after they arrive Tella is kidnapped by the shows organizer. Now Scarlett must find her sister before the game is over and her sister disappears forever. You’ve probably already heard about this book already. From the stunning arcs to the rave reviews it would be hard to miss it. I’m definitely buying into the hype for this one so I hope it doesn’t let me down.

This book will be released on January 31st 2017

29772863Wire and Nerves, Volume 1 by Marissa Meyer


This is the first installment in a new graphic novel series set in The Lunar Chronicles world. The story follows Iko, who takes it upon herself to find a group of rogue wolf-hybrid soldiers who’re threatening the peace between Earth and Luna. She soon finds herself working alongside a royal guard and I’m assuming a romance begins to bloom. I am so so so excited for this. I absolutely loved TLC and Iko was definitely one of my favourite characters so I’m so happy we’re getting more of her story. I’m also happy this is a new story instead of just the orignal TLC in graphic form.

This book will be released on January 31st 2017

22296822The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles


I honestly don’t know how to summarize the goodreads synopsis of this book. It’s basically about a girl, Zoe, who is attacked in a cabin in the woods only to be rescued by a mysterious bounty hunter named X. Despite being forbidden to reveal himself to anyone but his victims, X makes an exception for Zoe. This book has been getting raving reviews and I actually have an eARC of it so I’ll probably read it very soon.

This book will be released on February 9th 2017

32931436History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera


I think I mentioned in a previous post that this book was already out in the US but it actually isn’t. I don’t know why I thought it was but I’m guessing it was because so many people seem to have already read this or have ARCs that I just assumed it was out. This book is about Griffin, who has OCD, as he deals with the death of Theo, his ex-boyfriend. As Griffin is determined to learn all about Theo’s college life and ultimately his death, he becomes close to Theo’s new boyfriend, Jackson.

This book will be released on February 9th 2017

23447923The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz


I should probably stop saying I don’t like contemporaries since this is the fourth one included on this list but honestly I just like to talk about diverse books despite their genre. This books follows Sal, who lives with his adoptive gay father and their Mexican-American family, who is struggling with his identity during his senior year. I read and absolutely adored Sáenz’s other book Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe, so it would be safe to assume my excitement and expectations for this book are incredibly high.

This book will be released on March 7th 2017

29748925Strange The Dreamer by Laini Taylor


I’m one of the few people who has yet to read Taylor’s other trilogy but I’ve heard really good things about her writing so I will be getting to it soon(ish). This is another book that I’m not quite sure how to describe so I would recommend reading the full goodreads synopsis since I’m probably not going to do it justice. This book follows Lazlo Strange, who has been obsessed with the mythic city Weep. One day he seizes his chance to visit the Weep with a group of legendary warriors and a hero known as the Godslayer. Now he’s trying to figure out why Weep was cut off from the rest of the world two hundred years ago and the solution to a mysterious problem.

This book will be released on March 28th 2017

32613366

The Hate U Give Us by Angie Thomas


Not only is this a debut novel but it’s inspired by the black lives matter movement, which are two reasons this book should already be on your TBR. The story follows sixteen year-old Starr after she witnesses a police officer shoot her best friend, Khalil. Now his death is making national headlines and everyone wants to know what really happened, which only Starr knows. Now her and her family are being intimidated by the cops and a local drug dealer, as Starr decides what to do. I’ve mentioned countless times how I’m not the biggest fan of contemporaries but this book deals with such an important issue that I’ll definitely be picking it up. Also, I admire what Thomas is doing for the diversity conversation on Twitter so I want to support her work.

This book will be released on April 6th 2017

23308087Flame In The Mist by Renee Ahdieh


Is anyone really surprised that Ahdieh’s latest book is making this list? Because really you shouldn’t be. It’s no secret The Wrath and The Dawn was tied as my number one read of 2015 and I absolutely loved its sequel, The Rose and The Dagger, earlier this year. I believe this is a Mulan retelling but I don’t want to look up the synopsis because I want to go into this book not knowing anything. So instead of the synopsis lets talk about how stunning this cover is! Ahdieh is definitely an author blessed with beautiful covers, am I right?

This book will be released on May 2nd 2017

25635807Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare


You might be wondering why I included this on this list because I’ve yet to read the first book in this series but listen, I know I’m going to love it. I really enjoy the Shadowhunter world so I automatically just add any books set there to my TBR. Also, I’m determined to get to the first book this month.

This book will be released on May 23rd 2017

What 2017 releases are you excited for? Were you lucky enough to receive an ARC of any of the books I’ve mentioned above? If so, what did you think of them? Tell me in the comments!

Find Me Here

Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads | Instagram | Bloglovin | Email


signature

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (Dec 06th) – Books I’m Looking Forward To For The First Half Of 2017

Leave a Reply

