Monthly Wrap Up – November 2016

monthlywrapup

What I Read


The Whitechapel Fiend by Cassandra Clare & Maureen Johnson – ★★★★
Nothing But Shadows by Cassandra Clare & Sarah Rees Brennan – ★★★★
The Evil We Love by Cassandra Clare & Robin Wasserman – ★★★1/2
⇒ The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin  – ★★★★1/2
Pale Kings and Princes by Cassandra Clare & Robin Wasserman – ★★★★
The Fiery Trial by Cassandra Clare & Maureen Johnson – ★★★
Bitter of Tongue by Cassandra Clare & Sarah Rees Brennan – ★★★★
Born To Endless Night by Cassandra Clare & Sarah Rees Brennan – ★★★★
Angels Twice Descending by Cassandra Clare & Robin Wasserman – ★★★1/2
The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket – ★★★1/2
The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket – ★★★
The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket – ★★
The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket – ★★
The Austere Academy by Lemony Snicket – ★★
The Vile Village by Lemony Snicket – ★★1/2
The Ersatz Elevator by Lemony Snicket – ★★1/2
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – ★★★
The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket – ★★★
The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig – ★★★ [Review coming soon]
Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout – ★★


This is the most I’ve read in a month all year, I believe. So although I did not give many of these books (and novellas) higher than 3 stars I’m still very happy with how my reading went this month. All of the books I read this month were actually audiobooks apart from two.

I think it’s safe to say it’s fairly obvious that The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer was my favourite read of the month. I really enjoyed reading from an unreliable narrator’s perspective and I definitely want to read more books narrated by one. Despite really enjoying this book I do want to say it was nothing like what I expected. For some reason I thought this book was set in an Asylum. I have no idea why but it wasn’t, if you were wondering. I cannot wait to read the second book after that ending, although I’m not sure when I’ll pick it up.

With the upcoming Netflix adaptation of A Series of Unfortunate Events I thought it was time to finally read this series. Usually I’m not a fan of series longer than 7 books but I’d heard so many good things about this one so I wanted to give it a shot.You already know that I didn’t give these books the best ratings so it might surprise you but I did actually enjoy them. Yes the series is a little far fetched and over the top but it’s still entertaining.I do think if I didn’t read them so quickly I would’ve enjoyed them a lot more. Since I didn’t, the books do end up feeling very repetitive. If you’ve read these you’d know that every single book in this series seems to be following the same formula. It’s only in the seventh or eighth book that you start to get hints that something more is actually happening. Also, a lot of people talk about how dark and creepy these books are (and maybe they are if you read them as a child) but honestly I just found them kind of amusing/ridiculous. Again, that might just be because I’m a nineteen year old and not the intended younger target audience.

I don’t want to call this my most disappointing read of the month since my expectations were already pretty low, so my least favourite read was Opposition. When this book first came out all of the people who had encouraged me to read this series were so disappointed in this final installment. That’s probably why it’s taken me so long to finally get to it. Honestly, I wasn’t even planning to read this since my reading taste has changed a lot since I first read the series (which I only liked and did not love in the first place) but if you know me you’ll know I hate leaving books or series half finished so I decided to give it a go. Honestly, the worst thing about this book was probably the romance. It was so cringe and I question how past me liked Daemon Black. I also didn’t understand how/why Daemon was constantly thinking about/initiating sex. They were literally in the middle of enemy territory but somehow Daemon found condoms and they had sex? I’m glad his priorities were straight (not).

Fantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them


 I originally planned to do a full movie review for this but then I realized I don’t actually have too much to say that is non-spoilery so I’ll just briefly talk about it here. For the most part, I did really enjoy this movie and it was great being back in the wizarding world. I thought Newt was adorable and learning more about the different magical creatures was nice. That being said I did have a few issues with it. The number one being how incredibly white washed the movie was, despite how historically inaccurate that was. Honestly, I still don’t understand why they made that call and I hope they rectify it in the future movies.

I’m still skeptical about how they’re going to make five movies but I’m willing to give them the benefit of the doubt. I’ve heard the next four are going to focus more on Grindelwald instead of Newt which is disappointing since Newt was definitely the highlight of the movie for me. Also, I feel like if they focus on a character that isn’t Newt then this movie could’ve easily  been considered a standalone movie and the next four could be their own series.

On The Blog


Reviews

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Top Ten Tuesday

Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR (08/11/2016) – Book Adaptations I Want To Watch (15/11/2016)

Discussions + Other Posts

Diversity Spotlight #7

Monthly Posts

October Wrap Up – November To Be Read – Most Anticipated November Releases

My blogging game was terrible this month but I do have to prioritise real life and even reading over blogging sometimes and that’s what I chose to do in November. I do hope to get back into the swing of things with my blog and I think I’ll be able to what with winter break coming up. Fingers crossed that December is a better blogging month than November was.


What books did you read this month? What was your favourite read of Novemeber? Did you watch the Fantastic Beasts movie? What did you think of it? Tell me in the comments!

Find Me Here

Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads | Instagram | Bloglovin | Email


signature

One thought on “Monthly Wrap Up – November 2016

Leave a Reply

