Monthly Wrap Up – December 2016

monthlywrapup

2016 is finally over and if I’m being honest I’m glad. Whilst 2016 wasn’t awful for me, it also wasn’t the best. Although, in terms of reading, it was the year I read the most books. So there’s that, right?

What I Read


•  Wonder by R.J. Palacio – ★★★★
•  A Storm of Swords: Part 1 by George R. R. Martin – ★★★★★
•  Deadpool Classic, Vol 1 by Fabian Nicieza & Co. – ★★★★
•  The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan – ★★★★1/2
•  A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E Schwab – ★★★★
•  The Young Elites by Marie Lu – ★★★1/2
•  The Blazing Star by Imani Josey – ★1/2
•  Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling – ★★★★★
•  The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury – ★★★★
•  1984 by George Orwell – ★★★
 Heartless by Marissa Meyer – ★★★1/2

I’m really happy with both the quantity and quality of the books I read this month. I had a lot of great reads this month so it’s hard to choose a favourite but I do have to go with both of my five stars (although a lot of my 4/4.5 reads were so close to 5 stars that I could talk about any of them).

It’s been a very long time since I’ve reread the Harry Potter series so being back at Hogwarts and with Harry & Co had me feeling all types of feels. As I’ve mentioned in my 2017 resolutions post I will be rereading the rest of the series this year.

I usually take over a month to read an A Song of Ice and Fire book (not because they’re bad but because they require a lot of concentration to not get confused with all of the different POVs and events) but I flew through A Storm of Swords Part 1. It’s definitely my favourite book in the series and I cannot wait to get to part 2.

I want to quickly mention the 1984 because I don’t plan to review it but I also have some things about this book which I want to say. I haven’t read very many classics because I don’t tend to enjoy the a whole lot but I do want to change that and give more of them a chance. Whenever I ask for classic recs 1984 is one of the ones mentioned the most, so I thought I’d finally pick it up. Despite finishing it almost a week ago, I’m still conflicted about what to rate it. I didn’t hate this book, in fact the world and the party were so interesting and this is easily my favourite dystopian society. This was also such a thought-provoking book and I do think everyone should read it. On the other hand, I absolutely loathed the narrator, Winston Smith, and he definitely ruined my overall enjoyment of the book. I do think I’ll stick to my original 3 stars rating.

Finally, I want to mention my least favourite read of the month. I really wanted to love The Blazing Star and since I plan to write a full review very soon I won’t go into too much detail on why I gave it only a 2.5 stars. I did love the fact that we had an almost exclusively POC cast of characters and the fact that the majority of characters were women. Unfortunately though, that wasn’t enough to make me love the book. However, the book was extremely slow, confusing at times and the world-building was lacking.

#DiversityDecBingo


If you didn’t know last month me and some friends hosted the #DiversityDecBingo over on twitter and for me, personally, the experience was a success. I was not only able to complete a bingo for the #DiversityDecBingo but I was also able to read two additional books for it. I am planning to do full reviews for all of the books I read to reach my bingo so I won’t be talking about my thoughts on the individual books in this post but I thought I’d share my final card with you all. Also, if you were able to reach a bingo then be sure to check out novelparadise‘s twitter where the winners of the giveaway(s) will be announced.

finabingo.png

Also, we are hosting a year-long diversity bingo so keep an eye on the blog where I’ll have an announcement post coming very soon and some diverse book recommendations!

On The Blog


Top Ten Tuesday

Books I’m Looking Forwards To For The First Half of 2017 (06/12/2016) – New-to-Me Authors I Read For the First Time In 2016 (13/12/2016) Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree (20/12/2016)

Discussion + Other Posts

#DiversityBingo Announcement + Recommendations  #DiversityDecBingo TBR Diversity Spotlight Thursday #8

Monthly Posts

December To Be Read November Wrap Up  Most Anticipated December Releases

Once again I had a fairly bad blogging month but I’m hoping that with the new year comes new motivation to continue blogging and keeping to a schedule. My number one priority for January is to get some reviews up since I didn’t write a single one in December.


How many books did you read in December? What was your favourite read of December? Tell me in the comments!

Find Me Here

Twitter – Tumblr – Goodreads – Instagram – Bloglovin – Email


signature

 

3 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up – December 2016

  1. Holly says:

    Glad you at least sort of enjoyed 1984! If you like George Orwell’s style in general then I recommend reading his novel Animal Farm. It has a similar unsettling, futuristic feel, although the premise of the story is very different from that of 1984.

    Like

    • ohbookish says:

      I do love his style and the way he created the world of 1984 (if only the narrator was more interesting but looking back I think maybe the story wouldn’t have worked so well if he hadn’t been the way he was). I’ll definitely check out animal farm next, thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

