Monthly Wrap Up – January 2017

monthlywrapup

January was a weird month for me. On one hand, I read a lot more than I expected to despite having to study for university exams. On the other hand, I’ve been neglecting my blog again despite creating a posting schedule.

I guess, you win some you lose some eh?

What I Read


The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan – ★★★★★
The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace – ★★★
The Carnivorous Carnival by Lemony Snicket – 
The Slippery Slope by Lemony Snicket – ★★1/2
• The Grim Grotto by Lemony Snicket – ★★1/2
Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare – ★★★★1/2
• The Penultimate Peril by Lemony Snicket – ★★★
To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han – ★★★★
Everything Leads to You by Nina Lacour – ★★★1/2
Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch – ★★1/2 
When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore – ★★★
The Melody of You and Me by M. Hollis – ★★

I’m really happy with how many books I read this month, especially since the first half of the month started off really slow for me. In terms of quality this was definitely a very mixed month but that’s becoming a common theme for me.

My favourite read was definitely the first book I finished and my only five star read of the month – The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan. I honestly just love camp halfblood and Riordan’s’ take on Greek mythology a lot and as much as I love his Magnus Chase series I just have a very special place in my heart for this world. Also, Apollo was such a hilarious narrator, the characters were great and I just had a lot of fun reading this book overall.

My lead favourite was The Carnivorous Carnival by Lemony Snicket. Whilst I do find this series entertaining, despite my low ratings, there was just something about this installment that I just did not enjoy. If it wasn’t for the fact that I was already so far into the series + that I was listening to it, instead of reading it for myself, I may have put it down.

If it wasn’t for #DiverseAThon I probably wouldn’t have ended up reading nearly as much as I did. I was originally planning to do an individual wrap-up post for it but time got the best of me and now I think it’s a little late. So, I’ll just quickly mention the four books I read during the read-a-thon and what I thought of each of them briefly.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han was definitely my favourite read from the read-a-thon and it was definitely a pleasant surprise for me (I really didn’t think I was going to enjoy it as much as I did). I finished this book in one sitting, simply because it was just so addictive.

Whilst I did enjoy Everything Leads to You by Nina Lacour I was expecting something more. I do think if it was a little bit longer, so we got to see the characters as an actual couple, this could’ve been a solid 4 stars book.

When The Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore is very beautifully written. Unfortunately, it’s a little too whimsical at times and I found myself getting really confused. However, I did love all of the characters and the plot was semi-interesting.

Lastly, The Melody of You and Me by M. Hollis just wasn’t a book for me. I’ve mentioned before that I don’t like contemporaries and this is an example of the types I’m not a massive fan of. I didn’t enjoy the writing, the plot was lackluster and I just really didn’t care about the characters. I do, however, think that had this been a full-length novel instead of a novella I would’ve enjoyed it more. I also want to mention that I wasn’t in the mood to read this type of story and I was forcing myself to finish it for the sake of the read-a-thon.

The Candle Codex


This isn’t really relevant to my blog per se but I’m still very excited about it so I thought I’d talk about it. I was chosen as an Instagram rep for The Candle Codex (If you want to see pictures of their products make sure to check out my profile), which is a company that makes homemade bookish themed soy candles. This is both my first time being a rep for a company and owning bookish-themed candles so I’m doubly excited.

For January I received their Mrs. Weasley (scent: caramel and cinammon) and Dumbledore (scent: sherbet lemon). Out of the two Dumbledore is definitely my favourite it has such a refreshing smell and I will confess I did sit there for 20 minutes just sniffing it when I first opened the package. They do have other scents (including other Harry Potter themed ones and a Throne of Glass inspired candle) so definitely do browse their shop. Also, compared to a lot of other companies their prices are pretty reasonable.

This isn’t a sponsored post.

On The Blog


Top Ten Tuesday 

2017 debuts I’m excited for (02/012017) – 2016 Reads I Meant to Get to But Didn’t (10/01/2017) – Underrated Books I’ve Read in The Past Few Years (19/01/2017)

Discussions + Other Posts

2017 Bookish + Blogging Resolutions/Goals  #DiversityBingo2017 Announcement Post + Recommendations Part 1#DiverseAThon TBR

Monthly Posts

December Wrap UpJanuary To Be Read Most Anticipated January Releases

I knew I’d had a bad blogging month, but until making this list I didn’t realize just how bad. I definitely want to focus a lot more on my blog this month, since there’s a strong chance I’ll have to take a break in the next few months because of finals. I do have loads of posts that should’ve gone up in January to get up so at least I’m not lacking any ideas, right?


How many books did you read in January? What was your favourite read of Januaryr? Tell me in the comments!

Find Me Here

Twitter – Tumblr – Goodreads – Instagram – Bloglovin – Email


signature

3 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up – January 2017

Leave a Reply

