Most Anticipated Releases – February 2017

When writing these posts I try to do them based on the UK publication date, since I am based in the UK. However, there are times when either I cannot find the UK date or publisher of a book, or I really want to read the book ASAP and so I’m willing to order the US edition. Some of the books in this post fall into either or both of these two categories.

post4

33854876Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen, Liesl feels that her childhood dreams are slipping away. And when her sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. But with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

This is a Labyrinth retelling and I’ve only seen the movie once when I was much younger. Yet I remember specific scenes from the movie so vividly and the basic plot. I’m really excited to revisit the story through this retelling and to see if it’ll entrance me as the movie did. I’m also going to use this release as the perfect excuse to rewatch the movie.

This book was released February 7th 2017

30626556History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

You’re still alive in alternate universes, Theo, but I live in the real world where this morning you’re having an open casket funeral. I know you’re out there, listening. And you should know I’m really pissed because you swore you would never die and yet here we are. It hurts even more because this isn’t the first promise you’ve broken.
OCD-afflicted seventeen-year-old, Griffin, has just lost his first love – his best friend, ex-boyfriend and the boy he believed to be his ultimate life partner – in a drowning accident. In a desperate attempt to hold onto every last piece of the past, a broken Griffin forges a friendship with Theo’s new college boyfriend, Jackson. And Griffin will stop at nothing to learn every detail of Theo’s new college life, and ultimate death. But as the grieving pair grows closer, readers will question Griffin’s own version of the truth – both in terms of what he’s willing to hide, and what true love ultimately means…

I’ve heard great things about Silvera’s books but have yet to pick any of them up. This one in particular has been gaining praise for a good portion of the last few months of 2016, which has made me eager to get my hands on my own copy.

This is an #ownvoices books both in terms of the Griffin’s sexual orientation and OCD.

This book was released February 9th 2017

29939230A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

Synopsis of book one, A Darker Shade of Magic, in the Shades of Magic series:

Kell is one of the last travelers–magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel universes connected by one magical city.

There’s Grey London, dirty and boring, without any magic, and with one mad King–George III. Red London, where life and magic are revered–and where Kell was raised alongside Rhy Maresh, the roguish heir to a flourishing empire. White London–a place where people fight to control magic and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. And once upon a time, there was Black London. But no one speaks of that now.

Officially, Kell is the Red traveler, ambassador of the Maresh empire, carrying the monthly correspondences between the royals of each London. Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they’ll never see. It’s a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand.

Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs into Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She robs him, saves him from a deadly enemy, and finally forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure.

Now perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, they’ll first need to stay alive.

I read the first book in this trilogy recently and really enjoyed it. I do still need to read the second book in this series but I wanted to wait until the third, and final book, was released so that I could marathon them.

This book will be released February 21st 2017

D24382227reamland Burning by Jennifer Latham

Some bodies won’t stay buried.
Some stories need to be told.

When seventeen-year-old Rowan Chase finds a skeleton on her family’s property, she has no idea that investigating the brutal century-old murder will lead to a summer of painful discoveries about the past… and the present.

Nearly one hundred years earlier, a misguided violent encounter propels seventeen-year-old Will Tillman into a racial firestorm. In a country rife with violence against blacks and a hometown segregated by Jim Crow, Will must make hard choices on a painful journey towards self discovery and face his inner demons in order to do what’s right the night Tulsa burns.

Through intricately interwoven alternating perspectives, Jennifer Latham’s lightning-paced page-turner brings the Tulsa race riot of 1921 to blazing life and raises important question about the complex state of US race relations – both yesterday and today.

One of the reasons I love making these types of posts is because it lets me discover books I would’ve otherwise had no idea existed. This synopsis sounds so intriguing and it doesn’t hurt that the cover is absolutely gorgeous. I looked through the few early reviews and they’ve been positive so I am very excited to get my hands on a copy of this.

This book will be released February 21st 2017

32075671The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, this is a powerful and gripping YA novel about one girl’s struggle for justice.

This book doesn’t come out in the UK until April, however, I’ve been excited to read this for so long that I decided to just include it in this post (since there’s a very high chance I’ll just get the US edition). I honestly think this book will be both eye-opening and game changing.

This book will be released February 28th 2017  (US) and April 6th 2017 (UK)

Those are the February releases I’m most excited for. What February releases are you excited for? Have you read any of these already? If so, what did you think of them? Tell me in the comments!

Find Me Here

Twitter – Tumblr – Goodreads – Instagram – Bloglovin – Email


signature

8 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Releases – February 2017

  1. The Hermit Librarian says:

    I’m very excited to read Wintersong. I got it in the mail this week and plan to read it soon, though I may wait just a little bit because I ordered a candle themed specially for the book and it isn’t here yet.

    I’m looking forward to The Hate U Give because it’s about such a tense topic and it sounds like it’s going to be epic.

    A Conjuring of Light is on my husband’s TBR because I haven’t finished the series yet, but we’re going to an even for it at Books of Wonder in NYC in a couple weeks, so it’ll be fun to hang out and here Ms. Schwab talk about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

