Monthly To Be Read – March 2017

monthlytbr

February was an incredibly good reading month for me, and I have high hopes that March will be either equally as good or even better. However, this TBR is going to include fewer books than what I’m actually expecting to read since I do still want some room for flexibility.

TBR Jar Challenge(s)


Read a book from my 17 books I want to read in 2017 list

I couldn’t have picked this challenge at a better time, since I’ve been doing horribly at actually reading the books I mentioned on that list. For this challenge I’m going to read The Archived by Victoria Schwab. I’ve read only one other book by Miss Schwab, which was the first book her in Shades of Magic trilogy, A Darker Shade of Magic, which I really enjoyed. I haven’t heard much about this one and if I’m being honest, I have no idea what it’s actually about but I’m looking forward to finding out.

Read a 2017 release

Whilst we’re only in the third month of 2017, I still have quite a few options for this one but I do think I’m going to end up reading the second book in The Witchlands series, Windwitch by Susan Dennard. I read the first book in this series last year when it came out and whilst I thought the world building could’ve been stronger, I did really enjoy it for the most part. I’ve heard great things about the sequel and the first book left off on a cliffhanger so I’m eager to finally get some answers.

Buddy Read(s) of The Month


 Keep It Diverse’s Book of The Month

This month we’ll be reading A Taste of Honey by Kai Ashante Wilson, which whilst listed as the second book in a series on goodreads can be read without reading book one. Both books are set in the same world but the characters and plot is different, I believe. If you’ll be reading with us don’t forget to join the goodreads group, follow us on twitter/instagram because we’d love to discuss the book with you!

We will be hosting a twitter chat at the end of the month where we will be discussing this book so keep an eye out on our account for the date and time, which will be announced soon.

An Ember in The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

As always, each month I buddy read a book with a friend of mine and this month we’ll be reading An Ember in The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. This book was getting so much buzz when it first came out and whilst I grabbed a copy I never ended up picking it up.

Other Books


Do you ever have a hard time deciding what to read next because you want to read all of the books at the same time? That’s me right now. I had a really hard time picking which books to include in this list but I decided to focus on finishing series which I’d already started this month.

Never Fade & In The Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken

These are the second and third books in Bracken’s The Darkest Minds series. I started this series last year and whilst I didn’t love it as much as everyone else seems to, it was still a solid read. The first book does leave a lot of room for questions, and I’m looking forward to finally getting some answers in these sequels. This series is also becoming a movie soon and I definitely want to have finished the books before that comes out.

Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

This is the third book in the Falling Kingdoms series. I listened to book one and book two in this series last month and whilst I really didn’t like book one, book two was a lot better but I still didn’t love it. I have heard that this series gets really good from book three onward, so I do have fairly high expectations for this one.

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

This is the third and final book in the Shatter Me trilogy. There was a pretty long period of time after The Hunger Games hype where I really wasn’t in the mood for any more dystopian books. Which meant that I didn’t end up reading half of the really popular series back in 2013/2014 but 2017 seems to be the year where I’m finally completing/catching up with all of those series.

Animal Farm by George Orwell

I read 1984 by Orwell last year, and whilst I loved the concept I absolutely loathed the narrator. However, I do still want to give more of his books a try. I’ve read passages from this book before for school, but I’ve never read the entire thing. I do think now’s the right time to change that and since this is incredibly short I could probably finish it in one sitting.


What books are you planning to read in February? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? If so, what did you think of them? Tell me in the comments!

Find Me Here

Twitter –Tumblr – Goodreads – Instagram – Bloglovin – Email


signature

One thought on “Monthly To Be Read – March 2017

  1. Lucy C says:

    I recently finished An Ember in the Ashes and it was completely different from what I was expecting but in a very good way. Can’t wait to see what you think!

    Like

Leave a Reply

