Book Review – The Princess Saves Herself in this One

32334098Author: Amanda Lovelace
Series: None
Genres: Poetry
Release Date: 23rd March 2017
Publishers: Andrews McMeel Publishing
No. Pages: 208
Source: Netgalley
Buy at: BookDepository | Wordery | Amazon

the princess saves herself in this one is a collection of poetry about resilience. It is about writing your own ending.

From Amanda Lovelace, a poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration.


Minus the few poems I was made to read back in school, I don’t think I’ve actually read any other poetry. However, this year one of my goals is to try and read things that are out of my comfort zone so I decided to give poetry a chance (since it’s hardly fair to write-off an entire branch of literary art because my English teacher sucked the fun out of it by making me over-analyse every single line).

When I saw The Princess Saves Herself in this One on netgalley I decided to request it, since I’d been seeing it everywhere and I’m glad I did. The book is split into four parts; the princess, the damsel, the queen and you. The poems deal with a number of topics including abuse, grief and self-love.

This collection is so deeply personal that it feels almost wrong to review it. There are some poems that I could relate to, some that were shocking in how raw and honest they were and some that I personally didn’t get. One thing I can promise is that you will leave this book feeling like you know the author.

I definitely understand why people say this book resembles tumblr quotes and that it focuses very much on aesthetics. However, I do think this particular style works for the book and I don’t know if these poems would be as effective if they were laid  out differently.

I did really enjoy this collection as a whole and I do look forward to reading more poetry, both by this author and others, in the future.

3-5stars

One thought on “Book Review – The Princess Saves Herself in this One

  1. Kelly says:

    I don’t really read a lot of poetry anymore (I did all the time back in high school, but for whatever reason I just drifted away from it), but this book sounds like it’s something that is deep, emotional, and important. I’ve heard tons of good things about this book, and when you mention the way that the book is split up into several different sections, it makes me even more interested in checking it out. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

